Walnut Hollow/Tombow Blog Hop Day 1

Today is the first day this week we will be sharing projects and ideas using Tombow® products. We are also having a week-long contest with the grand prize of products from Tombow and Walnut Hollow.

WHandTOMBOW

To put your name in the basket, you will need to do two things:

  1. Leave a comment here on our Blog. The more days you comment the more chances you have to win!
  2. “Like” us on Facebook.

Each day we will randomly chose a finalist and chose a winner from those finalists on the last day. The winner will be announced here at 1:00 pm (CST) Monday, May 6th.

We’re sending a special thank you to Tombow for asking us to play and create with them!

See the Tombow Design Team/ Bloggers:

Debbie FisherMelissa CashJennie GarciaMarie Browning

Over the past couple of years we have enjoyed using Tombow adhesives and pens and most recently their Irojiten Color Pencils. For years, Walnut Hollow sold oil colored pencils. Most of our customers used them with their wood burning projects. A few years ago, our supplier quit supplying us – and our customers were very, very, very, very unhappy about that. Now we can happily let our customers know that the Tombow Irojiten Color Pencils will give them the same beautiful results. To celebrate this, I’ve used the Irojiten Color Pencils on a few projects you will see this week.

I usually use a wood burning tool that is hotter than the temperature of the HotMarks tool (750°). And while the HotMarks was developed mainly for paper crafting, it will burn on wood also –  it is just that the wood burning is not as dark when you use a lower temperature hot tool. What I like about using the HotMarks for wood burning, is all the different Points that come with the tool.  These are the Points that come inside the storage case.

Points

And here is a close up photo of the really fun Points.

Close up

The Mini Flow Point comes in the case attached to the HotMarks tool itself.

HotMarks

These Points are perfect for Zentangle® projects and this Card Keeper Box was inspired by Zentangle.

???????????????????????????????

After all the wood burning was complete, I got to work with the Tombow Pencils. I’ve used pencils to add color in the past, but I took an online class presented by Tombow and Marie Browning teaching a variety of techniques using the Irojiten Pencils. It was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone interested in more information than what I will show here.

Most of the time I will simply fill in an area with a pencil using a circular motion – I use a soft touch so that the color is the same throughout the area.

Using circular motion

If I want to shade, I can use the same color with a stronger touch, more pressure, or a darker pencil using the same soft touch and let the colors blend together using this circular motion.

Adding another color

Another technique I used was described by Marie as “striking”. You can see an example of this when I added the darker green pencil to the lower butterfly wing. Touch where the “strike” will begin, then pull down and lift off. As this happens the color softens and blends with what is underneath.

Striking

Marie had suggested using the Tombow Dual Pen Blender to “move” the color and blend the colors together – brilliant! It works!

complete

So, basically, this was the process I went through to add color to the entire Box, always starting with the circular motion technique.

Closeup

I just had fun playing with all of the beautiful Irojiten Pencils colors – just like a kid with a new box of crayons………..

Bird      side

Here are photos of each side and lid of the Card Keeper Box with Irojiten Color Pencils used to add color.

Front 

Right side 

Left side 

Back side 

Top

30 thoughts on “Walnut Hollow/Tombow Blog Hop Day 1

  1. Years ago, I was interested in learning woodburning. Wow, after seeing your beautiful box, now I am interested again. I love the points that can be used with the tool. The color you added is just right. Excellent tutorial and thank you for re-introducing me to wood burning.

  2. What a wonderful pairing! Thanks for this excellent tutorial. Looks like I just figured out what to do to that new cigar box.

  3. I love my oil pencils and probably own every color set you ever sold! I will be interested to see what you do with the Irojiten Color Pencils this week. Love the box.

  4. It’s been over 20 years since I was able to work with wood. Made so many things and it was the perfect stress reliever for me. Seeing this makes me want to go back in time. Those days are sadly missed, but tomorrow is a new day. Thanks for sharing this.

  5. I only recently started wood burning but I really enjoy it! I have 2 complete and one in the works. It’s nice to see new ideas! Thanks! 🙂

  6. I love woodburning . Just finishd up a project that I will use for competition at the County Fair this summer . Love the Walnut Hollow Products !!

  7. I have been looking for a new craft and seeing this blog has been an eye opener. Right now I don’t have the cash for the outlay, but winning this could help tremendously in getting started on a new project.

  8. Wow… These are really neat. I have been wanting to try wood burning for a long time now. I remember doing a lil when I was a kid, but it belonged to someone else. I draw all the time and my husband has said I should try wood burning. I think it would be really neat to do. Just havent been able to financially try it out yet. These are Beautiful and very inspiring.

  9. This project is amazing! Would love to try wood burning again, did it long ago, but didn’t have the beautiful coloring items that Tombow has today. Thanks for the chance to win this!

  10. What an incredible box! I would love to get my hand on the box and the Versa Tool! The things I could do are limitless! To infinity and beyond!

  11. Ooohhh.. I really want to start wood burning! I would never have thought to use colored pencils… they look fabulous!!

  12. I enjoy woodburning, although I need to practice more! I would love to win this package to add to my collection of wood burning tools! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

