Arabesque Paneled Clock

40173 Star Burst Clock

Wanted to share with you everyone’s favorite project from the Rustic Pallet Program – hands down, it’s the Arabesque Paneled Clock. When I say “everyone” – I’m talking about my co-workers, who like to share their option of the projects created with our products! It is probably one of the most simple of all the pieces, yet catches everyone’s eye.

I love basecoating projects with Tattered Angel Glimmer Mists. It is just so easy to spray the Mist and let it dry.  There is no need to seal the wood first – in fact it’s much better not to seal the wood so that the Mist soaks into the surface of the wood. It covers the wood well and there is literally no clean up, just wipe up any spray that is on a mat or paper that you laid down before spraying. When you use the Glimmer Mists there is always a little brilliance on the wood when it is dry that is beautiful. I used Tattered Leather on the raw wood – the Rustic Paneled Clock.

Photo 1

I found the stencil at Michaels – it’s by Martha Stewart and the name on the package is Arabesque. There are several stencils in the pack, but I thought that the circles were perfect for the shape of the clock surface. I used a couple different colors (DecoArt®Americana®  Acrylic Paints: Khaki and Buttermilk) to layer the stencils with the Buttermilk used on top of the Khaki.

Photo 2

Photo 3

The best tip I can give you for stenciling is to use very little paint on the stencil brush. And don’t use water between colors! Add your first stencil color (Khaki) to the stencil brush and wipe any excess paint onto a paper towel. You can always add another coat of paint, but it’s hard to clean up messes from stenciling with too much paint on the brush. There are a couple of ways to add the color: working in a circular motion over the stencil or pouncing the brush on the stencil. For this project, I pounced – which is simply an up and down motion of adding color directly into the openings on the stencil.

After I was finished with the little dot circle stencil using Khaki, I wiped as much paint off the stencil brush as possible, then loaded the brush with Buttermilk and wiped the excess paint off on a paper towel as before. I stenciled the teardrop circle stencil with this color. Once you are happy with all of the stenciling, let the paints dry thoroughly……and now you can use water to clean the brush.

Use a medium flat brush to paint each number with Americana® black acrylic paint. The numbers are laser cut so they are brown on the edges. Because of this, I usually just paint the top of the number.

Photo 4

I love Tombow’s MONO Multi Liquid Glue because it works the best! I used it to adhere each number on the clock. I always start by gluing down the 12, 6, 3 and 9 numbers so that I know they are in the proper position. Then you can eyeball the numbers that go in between.

Add the clock movement (using one that has a shaft for ¾” wood surface) following the instructions on the back of the package. Add the clock hands, AA battery and set the time.

supplies1

One thought on “Arabesque Paneled Clock

Leave a Reply

