Rustic Gameboard

Chris Wallace for Walnut Hollow

This is just the right project if you need a quick and easy Gameboard for a gift or for your own family to use.

3510_unpackaged

I started with a blank Basswood Country Plank and left it just that way – without painting it at all.

I chose the papers I wanted to use and made sure that I had a definite contrast in the papers – think traditional checkerboards with red and black. Once I had the papers picked out, I cut them into 1 ¼” squares – you’ll need 64 of them.

IMG_1813

Working from the center of the wood Plank, I started gluing my paper squares into place until I had 8 rows across and 8 rows down. I use Tombow MONO Multi Liquid Glue to adhere the squares. 

IMG_1816

Adhere the longer strips of decorative papers to the top and bottom of the Plank. To add a special touch I added Decorivets from Vintaj over the paper. Just use a mallet or small hammer to attach the prongs on the Decorivets to the wood through the paper.

IMG_1814

The last thing I did was to spray the game pieces – stars. I used Tattered Angels Glimmer Mists  in colors to match the papers used. Once the pieces were dry on one side, I flipped them over and sprayed the other side. It was easy to cover the edges with the mist too.

No need to put this Gameboard away when not being used. It’s a decorative piece that can stay out all the time! A nice way for your family to spend more time together.

 

5 thoughts on “Rustic Gameboard

  1. What a cute idea! I’ll need to pick up that wood next time I’m in town. Or does Walnut Hollow have a online store? This game board would also make a nice gift at Christmas time. That’s again for the wonderful ideas. Dawn

Leave a Reply

