Paper Quilt Blocks

By Chris Wallace for Walnut Hollow

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As you know by now, I’m a quilter. It would have been fun to sew quilt blocks and adhered them to the Wood Panels for display, but I thought it would be more fun to make them out of paper. Just as I like all the different lines of fabric as they become available, I like the different lines of papers too!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It all begins with a 10 x 10 Wood Panel. The papers and embellishments used for these Panels were from Pink Paislee. I would suggest choosing a pad of coordinating papers you like with coordinating embellishing products. I chose to make a Churn Dash Block, a Pinwheel Block, a Double Four Patch Block and a Nine Patch Variation Block. Once you choose the blocks you would like to make, just eliminate any measurements for seams and you’re ready to trim your papers to fit.

Since the Churn Dash Block is one of my vary favorites, I’ll tell you how I made this one. I used a paper trimmer to cut the following:  (1) 3 ½” Pink Square, (2) 2 ¼” Green Squares cut diagonally for 4 triangles, (2) 2 ¼” Dark Print Squares cut diagonally for 4 triangles, (4) 3 1/2” Green Rectangles, (4) 3 ½” Dark Print Rectangles.

IMG_2002IMG_2008

I painted the edges of the Wood Panel using a medium flat brush and acrylic paint to coordinate with my paper.  Once dry, I used Tombow® MONO Multi Liquid Glue to adhere the papers, Power Tabs to adhere the wooden thread buttons and FoamTabs to adhere the “Friends” embellishment.

IMG_2003

A final touch to each Panel was added with stitch lines made with a Black Tombow® Dual Brush Pen Marker.

These would be great to make for your sewing or craft room or, if you know a quilter, make one as a gift! I’m sure they will love it…

Leave a Reply

