Halloween Tree

By Chris Wallace for Walnut Hollow

Walnut Hollow Crafts | Halloween Tree

Remember? I said I was going to doing something “un-traditional” with the Rustic Tree. This is just the first one and it was so easy to make!

IMG_2200

IMG_2201

You could use regular Black acrylic paint for the “branches”, but I used DecoArt® Americana® Chalkboard Paint™ so I could change the words from year to year if I wanted. Use a large flat brush to paint the Chalkboard Paint on the branches. Follow the instructions for painting 2 coats and letting it dry thoroughly.

IMG_2204

Using a large flat brush, paint the “trunk” of the Tree with DecoArt® Americana® Chalky Finish, Heritage. By now, I guess you know that this new paint from DecoArt is a huge favorite. It’s nice and thick – you only need one coat.

IMG_2206

The Marvy® Chalk Markers are great to use on the Chalkboard Paint. Usually I rub a regular piece of chalk over the dry paint to condition it for the Chalk Marker or for regular chalk. This time, I just left the paint as is and wrote with the Chalk Marker right on top.

IMG_2203IMG_2207

I wanted to add a few things to the tree – like ornaments. I decided to paint clothespins and nail them to the branches here and there so I could pin a few things.

IMG_2208IMG_2209

This is your early idea for the upcoming Halloween season. Better get started now – Happy Halloween!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Halloween Tree

  1. I adore Halloween and this is just perfect to stake out in the garden next to the front door! “Trick or Treaters” will love it!

Leave a Reply

