Mixed Media Playing Card Box

I recently discovered the world of mixed media and I can’t seem to get enough! I love that there is basically nothing you can’t add to a project.

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

For this mixed media playing card box, I used a variety of different supplies to create a fun one-of-a-kind keepsake.

Here is the list:

  • Wooden card box
  • Old book pages
  • Acrylic paint
  • Liquitex matte gel
  • Pencil
  • Hand carved rubber stamp
  • Black stamp ink
  • Derwent Inktense pencils
  • Sharpie pen
  • White gel pen
  • Water brush
  • Paint brush

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

I started by covering the lid of the playing card box with torn pieces of old book pages, gluing the paper down with matte gel.

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

The next thing I did was to look at the text and see if any words about playing games jumped out at me. I circled the ones I found with a pencil. I then used my fingers (you can use a brush!) to add acrylic paint in some of my favorite colors randomly over the entire outside of the box, staying away from the words I had circled.

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

To soften the paint colors and make the background more cohesive, I added a thin layer of very watery white acrylic paint over the box. Once that was dry, I stamped on circles with one of my hand carved stamps. You can use the end of a paper towel roll to achieve a similar look.

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

To further jazz up the circles on the box, I added more color with the Inktense pencils and a waterbrush, circled the words and added background dots with a Sharpie pen, and finally added some highlights and swirls with a white gel pen.

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

I decided to keep the inside of the box simple with just a coat of white acrylic paint. I think it would have been too busy to add a color!

Mixed Media Card  Box from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #playingcards #games

I love how the box came out! Of course, you don’t have to use it for playing cards. Business cards would fit great as would your favorite jewelry! It is a treasure box just waiting to be filled!

Thanks for creating along with me today! You can find out more about my creative world on my blog, Atop Serenity Hill.

ConsieSindetBioPicture

Bio: My name is Consie Sindet and I live in Hunterdon County, NJ. I’ve been making a living with my painting skills for the past 15+ years. I taught decorative painting for over 10 years and also painted many murals in both private homes and businesses. I spend a large part of the summer face painting at parties and fairs. My newest obsession is with mixed media and art journaling and I am currently in the beginning stages of creating two online classes about doodling and beginner art journaling.

Leave a Reply

