Wood burned name sign

My nephew, Joey, made his local traveling soccer team and to help him celebrate, I decided to create a name sign for his room.

Pinstriped wood burned name sign with sports plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #personalize #soccerHere are the list of supplies I used:

Pinstriped wood burned name sign with sports plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #personalize #soccer I started the project by wood burning random pinstripes into each of the letters using the edge of a metal ruler to keep all the lines straight.

Pinstriped wood burned name sign with sports plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #personalize #soccerAs you can see from the picture above, I rotated the direction of the pinstripes with each letter.

Pinstriped wood burned name sign with sports plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #personalize #soccerThe circle plaque was the perfect surface to create a soccer ball. I first burned on all of the outlines, then used the side of the tip to fill in the shapes.

Pinstriped wood burned name sign with sports plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #personalize #soccerTo add color to all the pieces so they matched Joey room, I applied acrylic paint with a brush to the edges of all the wood burned pieces. I then add more stripe details with paint markers to bring color to the front of the letters. The final step was to add screw-eyes to hook all of the letters together and a length of jute to hang the name sign from.

I am so excited for Joey to start this September and I hope he enjoys the sign in his room as a reminder of how proud we all are of him!

What other sports do you think would work well with this design?

Thanks for creating along with me today! You can find out more about my creative world on my blog, Atop Serenity Hill.

ConsieSindetBioPicture

Bio: My name is Consie Sindet and I live in Hunterdon County, NJ. I’ve been making a living with my painting skills for the past 15+ years. I taught decorative painting for over 10 years and also painted many murals in both private homes and businesses. I spend a large part of the summer face painting at parties and fairs. My newest obsession is with mixed media and art journaling and I am currently in the beginning stages of creating two online classes about doodling and beginner art journaling.

Leave a Reply

