Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin

A few years ago, I made a fall wreath that I still use but it needed to be updated for this upcoming autumn season. I love that Walnut Hollow’s layered wood pumpkin easily helped me update the wreath!

Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin • wood from WalnutHollow.com was added to an exsisting wreath for a fun update! • AtopSerenityHill.comHere are a list of supplies that I used to paint the wooden pumpkin:

  • Layered pumpkin
  • Creative Versa-Tool®
  • Metal ruler
  • Your choice of fall color acrylic paints from DecoArt
  • Flat paintbrush and small container of water
  • Sharpie marker, white paint marker, white gel pen
  • Fine sandpaper
  • Hot glue gun

Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin • wood from WalnutHollow.com was added to an exsisting wreath for a fun update! • AtopSerenityHill.com

The first step was to wood burn the outline of the quilt squares. I made them approximately 1″ each and used the metal ruler together with my Creative Versa-Tool® to keep the lines straight.

Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin • wood from WalnutHollow.com was added to an exsisting wreath for a fun update! • AtopSerenityHill.com

Using a variety of colors of acrylic paint, I randomly painted in each of my squares. I used a slightly watered down mix of paint so that you could still see a bit of wood through some of the colors.

Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin • wood from WalnutHollow.com was added to an exsisting wreath for a fun update! • AtopSerenityHill.com

I then added in stitching lines with a black Sharpie and highlighted them with the white gel pen. The white paint marker was used to quickly add some marks to each square. Once everything was dry, I sanded the entire pumpkin lightly with fine sandpaper to give it a worn feeling.

Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin • wood from WalnutHollow.com was added to an exsisting wreath for a fun update! • AtopSerenityHill.com

The final step was to add my new rustic patchwork pumpkin to my existing wreath. (You can find the directions on how to make the wreath base here.) I used a hot glue gun to attach the pumpkin to the wreath and I am all ready for fall decorating!

Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin • wood from WalnutHollow.com was added to an exsisting wreath for a fun update! • AtopSerenityHill.com

I am super happy with how I was able to update my holiday decor so quickly and still be able to keep the rustic charm of my wreath! How would you use the layered pumpkin in your decorating this fall? Leave a comment below!

Thanks for creating along with me today! You can find out more about my creative world on my blog, Atop Serenity Hill.

ConsieSindetBioPicture

Bio: My name is Consie Sindet and I live in Hunterdon County, NJ. I’ve been making a living with my painting skills for the past 15+ years. I taught decorative painting for over 10 years and also painted many murals in both private homes and businesses. I spend a large part of the summer face painting at parties and fairs. My newest obsession is with mixed media and art journaling and I am currently working on creating two online classes about doodling and beginner art journaling.

One thought on “Rustic Patchwork Quilt Pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Updating a fall wreath - Atop Serenity Hill

Leave a Reply

