DIY Dragonfly Mobile – Handmade Holidays 2015 Blog Hop Day 2

HANDMADE HOLIDAYS hop

Welcome to the Day 2 of the 5th Annual Handmade Holidays Blog Hop! What was your favorite project from the over 25 projects shared yesterday? Wood projects make long-lasting gifts that you can feel good about because all of our products are made here in the USA. Today Consie Sindet shares a beautiful Dragonfly Mobile, perfect for a garden, nursery, or as a fun conversation piece in the home:

I decided to share a tutorial with all of you for a pretty dragonfly mobile that would be perfect for not only new parents but for all the gardeners or nature lovers on your list!

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

Here are all the supplies you will need:

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

The first step is to drill small holes in the wooden letter. I decided on 10 dragonflies but add as many as you wish. I then painted the entire letter with a couple coats of silver acrylic paint.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

The dragonflies are made from primed canvas. You can find sheets of this in an art or craft store or use a framed canvas by detaching it from its frame. I sketched my dragonfly shapes with a pencil and cut them out with scissors.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

To create the watercolor effect on the canvas dragonflies, I used the Cat’s Eye® inkpads from Clearsnap® to lightly rub color onto both sides of the shapes. The primed side will be more pastel colored and the unprimed side with be darker in color.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

Using a black paint pen, I added sketchy lines to delineate the sections of the dragonfly on both sides of the canvas.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

I added a great sparkle to the wings by using Clearsnap® Emboss gloss and Opalescent embossing powder. I loved the applicator for the Emboss gloss as it allowed me to be a bit random with where I added the sparkle. I used a heat gun to melt and adhere the embossing powder to the canvas dragonflies.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

The next step was to attach all of the dragonflies to the wooden letter. I punched a small hole in the top of each dragonfly with the awl, threaded through a long piece of fishing line and knotted the it at the top of the head. I then threaded the fishing line through the drilled holes in the wooden letter, attached and knotted a bead to hold the fishing line in place and finally, added a dab of Tombow glue to keep it all in place.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

I attached four eye screws to the top of the mobile and tied on some coordinating ribbon to hang the mobile from a hook in the ceiling.

Dragonfly mobile using products from Walnut Hollow, Clearsnap and Tombow! • AtopSerenityHill.com

The dragonflies can now dance about the room that the mobile resides in! I would love to receive this as a gift and I’m sure you can think of someone special in your life that would love it as well.

Thanks for creating along with me today! You can find out more about my creative world on my blog, Atop Serenity Hill.

ConsieSindetBioPicture

Bio: My name is Consie Sindet and I live in Hunterdon County, NJ. I’ve been making a living with my painting skills for the past 15+ years. I taught decorative painting for over 10 years and also painted many murals in both private homes and businesses. I spend a large part of the summer face painting at parties and fairs. My newest obsession is with mixed media and art journaling.

Continue on the hop by clicking the next link in the list below – click the blue button to be taken to the link list.

Be sure to visit all of the blogs so you can enter our amazing giveaway of over $600 in craft supplies from all the sponsors.

HANDMADE HOLIDAYS SPONSORS

Enter the giveaway by using this link: a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 thoughts on “DIY Dragonfly Mobile – Handmade Holidays 2015 Blog Hop Day 2

  1. What a wonderful idea. I am making handmade gifts for many of my friends this year. Mainly paper crafts, but I may try this.

  2. I could not possibly share one favorite from yesterday and I am looking forward to tomorrow as well.
    I love making mobiles, wind spinners and wind chimes.
    This would make a beautiful addition to my garden area.

  3. BEAUTIFUL mobile Consie!!!
    WOW – LOVE your dragonflies, FABULOUS colours and PRETTY details!!!
    THANK YOU for sharing your CREATIVE INSPIRATION and tutorial 🙂

Leave a Reply

