Mixed media wooden art journal

I have been art journaling for a couple of years now and love to switch between my journals since each one contains different kinds of paper in all sizes.

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencilsSo, when I saw this great wooden memory album, I thought why not add a new journal to my collection!

Here are the supplies I used to decorate it:

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencilsThe album comes unassembled for ease of creating. All of the hinges and posts, plus instructions, are included to put it together once you have finished decorating. I started by ripping up my pattern paper and gluing it to the front cover with matte gel.

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencilsOnce the matte gel was dry, I painted the rest of the wooden surfaces with a mix of green and turquoise acrylic paints, overlapping the edges of the glued papers. To help blend everything together, I add a very light coat of white gesso over all of the paper .

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencilsI added texture to the cover by scraping modeling paste through a couple of stencils. Use whatever designs make you happy! The paste takes a little while to dry.

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencils

I added color to the texture paste designs when they were dry by spraying them with the DecoArt® Mister paints and then gently smoothing out the color with a paper towel. Shadows were created around the designs with Inktense pencils and a waterbrush.

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencils

I used a black paint pen to cover all of the edges of both covers.

Mixed Media Wooden Art Journal using the memory album cover from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #mixedmedia #artjournaling #stencilsI added very watered down white acrylic to the top of the cover and allowed it to gently drip down. A few highlights with my finger and white acrylic paint helped brighten up a few areas. Finally, I used black acrylic paint thinned with water to the consistency of ink to add flyspecks to the background.

I then assembled my new art journal by attaching the hinges on the front and adding the posts to the front and back. The art journal fits 12×12 sized cardstock perfectly so I need to stock up for the new year for when I feel like playing in my new journal!

Thanks for creating along with me today! You can find out more about my creative world on my blog, Atop Serenity Hill.

ConsieSindetBioPicture

Bio: My name is Consie Sindet and I live in Hunterdon County, NJ. I’ve been making a living with my painting skills for the past 15+ years. I taught decorative painting for over 10 years and also painted many murals in both private homes and businesses. I spend a large part of the summer face painting at parties and fairs. My newest obsession is with mixed media and art journaling.

Leave a Reply

