Featured Community Artist: Beth Watson

FeaturedArtistCROP

We are very excited to share our next Featured Community Artist: Beth Watson! Beth has contributed to the Walnut Hollow blog through our Walnut Hollow Influencers Program as well as worked in the craft industry for a number of years as a professional designer. We sat down with Beth to get a better idea of how she creates, how she is inspired, and where you can find more of her work. Here is her story:

BW HEADSHOT

Beth Watson is a creative design professional, specializing in mixed media design, three dimensional crafts and especially home décor. Beth enjoys bringing a unique twist to her designs by using traditional and even ordinary materials in unconventional ways. As a CHA Designer Member, she has been published in numerous craft magazines and books, as well as currently serves as a member of several design teams.

Walnut Hollow Books

WH: Tell us a little about yourself:

BW: I’m a hands on crafter first and foremost, but I love to paint and create multi-dimensional art in a variety of mediums. I enjoy working with companies that challenge me to think outside my comfort zone to create new ways to use their products.

WH: What inspires your work?

BW:  Inspiration can be found everywhere, but I primarily pull from my surroundings. Whether it’s a mannequin at the mall, a display of dishes at a superstore or the colors of a Florida sunset – inspiration is truly everywhere and in everything!

WH: How did you get started making art?

BW:  I have been designing and crafting since childhood, but my creativity truly blossomed at age 12 with the gift of my first painting set, as Christmas from my parents. My family has always supported me in my creative endeavors. I received a formal education in Advertising and Marketing from Ringling School of Art & Design, then developed my professional skills in the restaurant industry before turning my focus to the creative design world. I now orbit in both worlds (advertising by day and designing by night) and use my creativity in wide range of applications which keeps me on my toes!

WH: What is your favorite way to use wood in your art?

BW:  Walnut Hollow product lines are so diverse that I love to showcase the individuality of each product in my work. Basswood Country Rounds® are great in the raw, Rustic Pallets are excellent painted or stained; and Basswood Plaques are perfect for decoupage.

WH: What’s your favorite Walnut Hollow product to work with?

BW:  The Rustic Pallet line is my favorite group of products from Walnut Hollow, they are well made from quality materials which makes them a versatile base to paint, stain and embellish. I also love the wide variety of shapes, which fuels my creative process!

WH: What do you do for “fun”, besides creating fabulous DIY projects and art?

BW:  I live in sunny Southwest Florida with my family and enjoy traveling, theme parks and reading.

WH: What’s the next step for your business and art?

BW:  In addition to the design teams I work with, I am currently developing a book proposal and a teaching schedule for 2016.

WH: Where can we see more of your work?

BW: I am on a variety of social media platforms, but my Blog and my Instagram are the best way to observe my entire creative process! 

http://bwdesignstudio.blogspot.com/

https://www.instagram.com/beth3167/

https://www.pinterest.com/bethwatson3167/

http://Twitter.com/BWDesignStudio

https://www.facebook.com/beth.watson.330

++++++++++++++++++++

Every day, thousands of artists across the globe use Walnut Hollow products and share them on the internet. We’ve seen incredible pyrography paintings, beautiful chalk painted home decor, adorable clay figures, and more created with our products and tools and now, we’d like to share the story behind those artists with you.

Want be to featured? Share your work on our Facebook Page.

Pick up the supplies for projects like this plus enjoy FREE SHIPPING! Use code SHIP2016 at checkout at walnuthollow.com

Craft_FebFreeShipping_BNR

giveaway

This month we are giving away a fab prize pack with everything you need to start crafting with wood: A Walnut Hollow Versa-Tool, Walnut Hollow Basswood Round, and a Walnut Hollow Tablet Holder. Enter to win using the link below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

9 thoughts on “Featured Community Artist: Beth Watson

  1. Nice to meet you, Beth. I told love crafting & your books are a real inspiration. I have a few things in mind that I could decorate with them. lol

Leave a Reply

