Wooden Feather Sign Wall Decor

On a recent shopping trip I was fascinated by all the feather wall decor I saw in the shops.  Later I was scrolling through the Walnut Hollow online shop and saw these wooden feathers and rustic pallet and I knew that’s what I wanted to use in my first monthly project for Walnut Hollow.

Bare wood rustic pallet and feathers

Supply List for Feather Sign Wall Decor

 

Rustic pallet and feathers BEFORE painting

This was a large project but went really quick.  All it took was one coat of the chalky finish paint.  I worked it into the rough texture of the rustic feather with a paint brush.

 

Painting the rustic feather

I applied a coat of watered down dark walnut stain to the rustic pallet then wiped it off with a rag.

staining rustic pallet

Now for my little secret… I wasn’t sure if I wanted to use one or two feathers on this sign so I stuck them on with removable poster putty and hung it on the wall to see how I liked it.  I didn’t want to nail the feathers on until I was sure how I wanted to place them.  After it had hung up for a couple of days I decided I liked it.  So I thought I’d just leave it with the putty to see how long it would last.  That was 3 weeks ago and it’s still hanging there!

The feathers are very light and it just took two finish nails in each one to hold them on.

inished rustic pallet with feathers

Here’s the finished project hanging in my guest bedroom.

 

rustic pallet with feathers

Check out these other projects made with Walnut Hollow rustic pallets:

Thanks for reading my first monthly project for Walnut Hollow!  Leave a comment and let me know which pallet project you like best.

Pick up the supplies for projects like this at walnuthollow.com

giveaway

This month we are giving away a fab prize pack with everything you need to start crafting with wood: A Walnut Hollow Versa-Tool, Walnut Hollow Basswood Round, and a Walnut Hollow Tablet Holder. Enter to win using the link below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

3 thoughts on “Wooden Feather Sign Wall Decor

  1. Pingback: BLESSED Farmhouse Style Wood Pallet Sign | walnuthollowcrafts

Leave a Reply

