DIY Rustic Fruit Crate Stand for Your Kitchen

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

Hey everyone, Katie here!

Spring is approaching quickly which to me means that is it almost garden season! I love fruits and veggies, and while I buy vegetables from the store during the winter, I cannot wait to pick them fresh from my yard or from the farmers markets again. Usually our counters are full of vegetables and I wanted to give them their own home and get them off their counter, and what better to do that than a couple of Rustic Crates? Walnut Hollow products are great for creating unique organizing solutions for the home and since I love these crates for storage in my studio, and thought they would be great in other parts of the house as well!

I combined a couple of the large Rustic Crates with 2 Basswood Carving Blocks to put together this fruit stand.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

Supplies:

  1. Start by taping off the top edge of the crates.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

2. Using a 1″ paint brush, paint the inside of the crate. I wanted a really bright pop of color on the inside, so I used this bright Apple Green Acrylic paint by DecoArt.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

3. Once the inside paint is dry, remove the painters tape and paint the top edge with a darker color.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

4. Paint the carving blocks.

5. Spread a bit of wood glue onto the ends of the carving blocks and stack the 2 crates as pictured below. I recommend placing something heavy (books are a good option!) inside the top crate to weigh it down. Let the glue dry completely.

6. Use a few nails on each end to further secure the crates to the carving blocks/legs.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

7. Use a foam brush to apply chalkboard paint through a label stencil onto the fronts of the crates.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

Did I mention how much I LOVE these Walnut Hollow Rustic Crates? Now I just need to garden season to get here so I can always have fresh cucumbers and peppers in my fruit stand! Just another month or so.

@punkprojects uses rustic crates by @walnuthollow1 to make this fruit stand!

What color would you paint the inside? I love this green, but there are so many color options it was hard to choose!

Pick up the supplies for projects like this at walnuthollow.com

glitters

Bio: Katie is a 23 yr old artist currently living in the Pacific Northwest. She is a lover of everything crafty and is the girl behind the blog Punk Projects, where she posts scrapbook layouts, art journal pages, tutorials and all sorts of artsy things.

2 thoughts on “DIY Rustic Fruit Crate Stand for Your Kitchen

Leave a Reply

