Featured Community Artist: Katie Smith

FeaturedArtistCROP

We are very excited to share our next Featured Community Artist: Katie Smith! Katie has contributed to the Walnut Hollow blog through our Walnut Hollow Influencers Program as well as worked in the craft industry for a number of years as a professional designer. We sat down with Katie to get a better idea of how she creates, how she is inspired, and where you can find more of her work. Here is her story:

Katie S

Katie is an artist and crafter. She shares her work on her blog, Punk Projects, which consists of everything from scrapbook layouts to DIY projects. Katie has been published in multiple magazines including Creating Keepsakes, Stitch Craft Create as well as craft books such as Star Trek Crafts and Craft it Now.

WH: Tell us a little about yourself:

KS: I consider myself both an artist and a crafter. I love drawing and painting but I also LOVE a good DIY craft project.

IMG_5350

WH: What inspires your work?

KS: I find inspiration in so many places- nature and outer space, other artists I admire, as well as the normal places such as Pinterest or magazines.

french bulldog painting (1)

WH: How did you get started making art?

KS: I’m completely self taught. Growing up I was always a doodler. I drew all over my homework, and I just never stopped making things.

I started my blog in 2009 which let me work with companies and it has turned into a career as well as a hobby/lifestyle.

heart box

WH: What is your favorite way to use wood in your art?

KS: Wood makes such a great base for craft projects! I love using crates and boxes for projects because not only can they be painted and embellished but they’re also extremely useful for storage!

diy chalkboard crates3

WH: What’s your favorite Walnut Hollow product to work with?

KS: I love the Rustic Pallet Crates! I have a slight obsession with wooden boxes and crates for storage in my craft room and it’s really fun to paint them.

WH: What do you do for “fun”, besides creating fabulous DIY projects and art?

KS: I love getting out into nature! Sometimes that means hiking or mountain biking, and sometimes it is out gardening or taking photographs of things I find interesting!

happiness is- art journal page (1)

WH: What’s the next step for your business and art?

KS: I’m working on a still somewhat secret project that I’m hoping to release soon- I will give you a hint and say it is a book! 😉

I am also working more with companies, doing illustration projects!

WH: Where can we see more of your work?

KS: You can learn more about me on my blog and how to work with me here.

www.punkprojects.com
www.etsy.com/shop/punkprojects

www.facebook.com/punkprojects
www.twitter.com/punkprojects
www.pinterest.com/punkprojects
www.instagram.com/katiebug92

++++++++++++++++++++

Every day, thousands of artists across the globe use Walnut Hollow products and share them on the internet. We’ve seen incredible pyrography paintings, beautiful chalk painted home decor, adorable clay figures, and more created with our products and tools and now, we’d like to share the story behind those artists with you.

Want be to featured? Share your work on our Facebook Page.

Order the items needed to complete this project at Walnut Hollow. Take 40% off with code CRAFT40 at checkout!

giveaway1000

 

ENTER TO WIN the prize pack above this month, right here on our blog! Click the link below to enter:

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

