Rustic Map Shadow Box

This project was inspired by a visit to an upscale home decor shop that I went to recently.  I love their wall decor, especially the large black frames with the vintage style maps.  But I can’t afford their prices so I decided to make something similar with my Walnut Hollow Shadow Box.

Walnut Hollow rustic pallet crate BEFORE painting copy

Supply List for Map Shadow Box

  • Walnut Hollow Rustic Shadow Box
  • Americana Decor Chalky Finish paint, Carbon
  • paint brushes
  • map poster
  • ruler or quilting square
  • pencil
  • scissors
  • decoupage medium
  • bone folder

First, I brushed on the black paint.  It only took one coat with a few touch ups after it dried.  I painted the whole shadow box except for the back boards.  That part would be covered up with the map.  But I made sure I got the edges of the boards!

Painting shadow box edges black copy

As the paint was drying I measured and cut out the map sections.  I cut four pieces 2 1/2″ x 11″ and ended up trimming about 1/4″ off the top and bottom.

Cutting map for shadow box wall decor copy

I checked to make sure everything fit before glueing them in.  I brushed on a thin coat of decoupage medium and pressed down the map pieces, burnishing them with a bone folder to remove any air bubbles.

Glueing map into shadow box

And here’s the finished map shadow box.  Now you can see why it’s so important to paint the edges of the boards.  You’ll be able to see them after the map sections are glued on.

Finished map shadow box copy

Thanks for reading my monthly project for Walnut Hollow!  Make sure you visit the Walnut Hollow online shop to see all the other pieces in the rustic pallet program.

Craft_SpringSale20Off_BNR

 

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

7 thoughts on “Rustic Map Shadow Box

Leave a Reply

