DIY Wood Burned Cookie Plate for Parties, Weddings and More!

Make this Wood Burned Cookie Plate for a party or wedding using @walnuthollow1 products and this tutorial by @punkprojects!

Hey everyone, Katie here!

My Sister is getting married later this year, and I have been dubbed the “MADE of Honor” because I am making everything. So I have been brainstorming projects that I can make for her to use as decor in her Wedding. I love the Basswood Country Rounds that Walnut Hollow makes, so I really wanted to use one as a cookie plate. Since Walnut Hollow products has durable tools for wood burning, I decided to wood burn and paint this Basswood round!

 

Supplies:

  1. Start by deciding what design you want to do. I was inspired by Spanish folk art, and sketched out a few design ideas in my sketchbook.

wh wood burned cookie plate tutorial (1)

2. Use a pencil to sketch your design onto the basswood country round.

wh wood burned cookie plate tutorial (2)

3. Use the Creative Versa-Tool (I recommend setting it to the orange setting) to burn in your designs. I used the universal tip to wood burn in the floral designs and once I was done, I let it cool off and then I used pliers to unscrew the tip and switched to the flow tip to burn in little dots like confetti.

wh wood burned cookie plate tutorial (3)

4. Use a small paint brush to fill in the floral designs with white acrylic paint.

wh wood burned cookie plate tutorial (4)

 

Thank you for stopping by today! I am off to go work on more crafts and wedding decor!

What style of designs would you wood burn onto a cookie plate? What type of cookie would you bake to put on it?

woodburned cookie plate2 woodburned cookie plate3

Make sure you visit the Walnut Hollow online shop to see all the other pieces in the rustic pallet program.

Craft_SpringSale20Off_BNR

glitters

Bio: Katie is a 23 yr old artist currently living in the Pacific Northwest. She is a lover of everything crafty and is the girl behind the blog Punk Projects, where she posts scrapbook layouts, art journal pages, tutorials and all sorts of artsy things.

6 thoughts on “DIY Wood Burned Cookie Plate for Parties, Weddings and More!

  1. I love my Walnut Hallow Tools! I have two of them and they get used daily. This design is super cute, I haven’t tried adding paint to my designs yet though. After seeing this one I might just have to give it a try!

  2. Pingback: Rustic Wood Burned Card Box For Your Wedding! | walnuthollowcrafts

Leave a Reply

