Rustic Wood Ledge Lacy Wedding Centerpiece

It’s wedding season again!  I know from experience that when a DIY wedding is over you’re left with all the decorations!  So I wanted to create a wedding centerpiece that could be taken home by the couple, their parents, or a guest and used every day.

01 - Walnut Hollow rustic wood ledge wedding centerpiece copy

Supply List

  • Rustic Wood Ledge
  • white paint
  • blue paint
  • sandpaper, 100 grit
  • paintbrushes
  • plastic doily
  • vintage bottles
  • flowers

I started with a coat of white paint.  I did NOT sand before I painted.  I wanted to do that after the first coat so more of the texture would show through.

02 - Walnut Hollow rustic wood ledge, painting for wedding centerpiece copy

After it dried completely, I used a heavy grit sandpaper to take a lot of the paint and rough wood off.  I sanded a little heavier on the edges and corners where it would naturally show more wear.

03 - Walnut Hollow rustic wood ledge, wedding centerpiece after sanding copy

After wiping down with a damp towel I added the next layer of paint.  I found an old plastic doily in my stash and found that it worked better as a stencil than the paper or crocheted doilies I had used before.  I placed it on the side of the box and lightly pounced the blue paint over it.  It didn’t take much paint at all.  Then I just moved the doily to the next area and repeated the process.

06 - Walnut Hollow rustic wood ledge wedding centerpiece copy

Here’s a close up.

05 - Walnut Hollow rustic wood centerpiece copy

This could be done in any color to match the colors of the wedding.  And once the wedding was over it could even be repainted!  I’m liking the blue so mine will stay this color for a while.

Check out these other DIY wedding projects:

Thanks for reading!  Before you go, be sure to enter our giveaway this month using the widget below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Craft_MayGiveaway_BNR

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

One thought on “Rustic Wood Ledge Lacy Wedding Centerpiece

  1. Pingback: Air Plant Wall Planter

Leave a Reply

