Rustic Wood Burned Card Box For Your Wedding!

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (2)

Hey guys, Katie here! Today I wanted to share with you a simple idea for creating a rustic chic box to hold cards on your wedding day! My Sister is getting married in Arizona later this year, so the wedding will obviously have a bit of a southwest theme to it.

I already shared the wood burned cookie plate I made from a Basswood Country Round for the wedding, and I wanted this card box to sort of match it. Walnut Hollow products add a rustic yet sophisticated look to any wedding.

Supplies:

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (1)

  1. Cover the inside of the lid with washi tape. I used DIY Decor Tape by Hazel and Ruby because I loved the shiny gold dots.

If the tape goes past the edge of the box, use a craft knife to trim it away.

 

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (4)

2. Take a small paint brush and black acrylic paint, and paint on the word “cards” to the inside of the lid, over top of the washi tape.

The idea is to have the box open on a table, so your friends and family will see the “Cards” sign and know to place the cards inside the box.

Let that dry completely.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (5)

3. Next use acrylic paint to paint the sides of the lid with stripes.

As you can see in this picture, I started out painting them with southwest colors. Afterwards I decided I wanted to keep the box more simple so it will match any wedding decor my Sister uses so I repainted the stripes white.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (6)

4. Now grab your Creative Versa-Tool Wood Burner! I used a variety of tips to make multiple rustic/southwest inspired patterns on my box.

I used the flow point to make itty bitty dots along the top outer edges of my box.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (7)

5. Use the Universal Point to wood burn lines between your stripes.

6. Use the letter V tip to make a diamond pattern on the side of the box. I just put 2 “v’s” together to make diamond shapes and repeated that around the sides.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (8)

7. Use one of the stamping points to add circle designs below the V diamonds.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (9)

8. Use a ruler to mark our lines on the top of the Cornice box where you want to wood burn in “Mr. and Mrs.”. Another idea might be “his and hers” or the special couple’s initials.

9. Use the HotStamps Alphabet Uppercase to burn in the letters, letting each tip cool back off before switching them out.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (10)

10. To add one more special touch I brush on a coat of decoupage on to the top of the box and as it was still wet I dusted it with super fine glitter. I think it adds just the perfect amount of bling to go from “rustic” to “rustic chic”.

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (11)

There you have it! One custom wood burned card box for your big day!

wh wood burned wedding card box diy (3) wh wood burned wedding card box diy (2)

Be sure to enter our current giveaway!

Craft_MayGiveaway_INSTAGRAM
a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

glitters

Bio: Katie is a 23 yr old artist currently living in the Pacific Northwest. She is a lover of everything crafty and is the girl behind the blog Punk Projects, where she posts scrapbook layouts, art journal pages, tutorials and all sorts of artsy things.

6 thoughts on “Rustic Wood Burned Card Box For Your Wedding!

  1. I LOVE this idea for a wedding…a great shower gift. I also love the mix of pyrography and paint (although I liked the original colors she picked better…but I get the toned down look for a wedding!!)

Leave a Reply

