Featured Community Artist: Dana Tatar

FeaturedArtistCROP

We are very excited to share our next Featured Community Artist: Dana Tatar. Dana has been a contributing artist during many of our social media campaigns over the last year here on the Walnut Hollow blog. We sat down with Dana to get a better idea of how she is inspired, why she creates, and where you can find more of her work. Here is her story:

DanaTatar_Headshot

I’m a scrapbook and mixed media artist that currently lives in Virginia. I was a biochemist before I decided to stay home full-time with my daughters and my analytical mind is always present when I’m crafting. I really enjoy playing with wet media; mixing things together, heating and drying things out, and trying to find creative uses for products.

WH: Tell us a little about yourself.

DT: I’m currently designing, or guest designing, for several manufacturers! I love to try new things and stretch myself as an artist. I am fortunate to be able to work with chipboard, ink, traditional paper crafting supplies, textiles, and wood on a monthly basis. This fantastic variety of materials helps ensure that no matter what mood I’m in I’ll have something that catches my eye and oftentimes short attention span.

SAMSUNG CSC

WH: What inspires your work?

DT: I’m greatly inspired by song lyrics, quotes from my favorite authors, and pop culture. Often times I’ll hear a verse that I relate to and immediately want to run to my studio to create.

WH: How did you get started making art?

DT: I started my journey into the craft world after the birth of my first daughter as a way to preserve memories. Over time, I started to create less traditional scrapbook layouts and began to explore other forms of art. What started out as a memory keeping expedition has transformed into artistic expression that I need to do, mostly for my own enjoyment.

Dana-Tatar-Wood-Comic-Book-Superhero-Ensemble-Walnut-Hollow

WH: What is your favorite way to use wood in your art?

DT:  I enjoy using wood products to create one-of-a-kind home accents that I can infuse with personality.

 

SAMSUNG CSC

WH: What do you do for “fun”, besides creating fabulous DIY projects and art?

DT: When I’m not creating art, I enjoy cooking and baking, reading, listening to music, preferably a live show, and spending time outdoors with my family.

 

SAMSUNG CSC

WH: Where can we see more of your work?

DT: 

http://datatar.blogspot.com

Instagram: http://instagram.com/danatatar/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheyCallMeTatarSalad

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/datatar/ 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DanaATatar 

++++++++++++++++++++

Every day, thousands of artists across the globe use Walnut Hollow products and share them on the internet. We’ve seen incredible pyrography paintings, beautiful chalk painted home decor, adorable clay figures, and more created with our products and tools and now, we’d like to share the story behind those artists with you.

Want be to featured? Share your work on our Facebook Page.

Stock up for Father’s Day with wood burning supplies from the Walnut Hollow store to make these gift ideas and more ! Hurry! Offer ends soon.

Craft_FathersDaySaleWoodBurning_BNR

4 thoughts on “Featured Community Artist: Dana Tatar

Leave a Reply

