Wood Plaque Journal Covers

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (1)

Hi everyone, Katie here!

Who doesn’t love the feel of picking up a new homemade journal? I love making journals and buying journals. I usually make journals with a soft leather cover, or even just a chipboard cover, but I wanted to try something different by making some wooden covers! I loved the results so much I made 2 journals!

 

 

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (4)

Supplies:

  1. I started by using a gel stain by DecoArt to stain my rectangle plaques and let those dry completely.

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (5)

2. Next I painted the front and back cover, but leaving the sides and inside stained.

3. I decorated my cover by stenciling onto it with gold acrylic paint and adhering on sequins.

 

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (6)

4. Use a drill to drill 3 holes in each cover. 1 in the middle and the other 2 about 1″ from the top and bottom.

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (8)

5. Cut mixed media paper down to 7″x10″ and fold them in half. These will be the paper signatures inside the journal.

I’m still a novice at coptic binding, so I won’t try and explain it, however I used this tutorial by Canada Arts Connect to learn how to coptic stitch and I can highly recommend it!

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (9)

Once you have the journal bound, you are done!!

Instead of painting my second journal, I adhered on some resin paper. I love the look.

wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (2) wh wooden journal cover tutorial KatieS (3)

 

Thanks for stopping by! If you have a few minutes, check out the amazing selection of basswood products on the Walnut Hollow website!

glitters

Bio: Katie is a 23 yr old artist currently living in the Pacific Northwest. She is a lover of everything crafty and is the girl behind the blog Punk Projects, where she posts scrapbook layouts, art journal pages, tutorials and all sorts of artsy things.

One thought on “Wood Plaque Journal Covers

Leave a Reply

