BLESSED Farmhouse Style Wood Pallet Sign

Farmhouse style signs seem to be everywhere lately.  So I figured it was about time for me to make one for my dining area.  I had an empty space right above the window just the right size for this rustic pallet from Walnut Hollow.

This sign is special.  It’s a perfect reminder for our fall/Thanksgiving season about how blessed we are.  Then as soon as Thanksgiving is over it can be turned over to the other side for the Christmas season.

supplies-for-walnut-hollow-farmhouse-sign

Supply Needed for Industrial Farmhouse Style Sign

Step One:  Stain the rustic pallet with walnut stain.

Step Two:  Paint the letters in metallic silver.

You can see in the photo below that this could be a stopping point.  But if you like a more distressed look, keep going!

first-coat-of-paint-on-letters

Step Three:  Pounce a tiny bit of black paint around the edges of the letters with a stencil brush.

black-detail-on-letter

Step Four:  Pounce on the gray paint, overlapping black in areas.

gray-detail-on-letters

Step Five:  Lay all letters out next to each other.  If any are too dark, pounce some of the metallic silver over the dark areas.

Step Six:  Sprinkle some cinnamon onto your hand and rub it into the edges of the letters for a rusty effect.

cinnamon-detail-on-letters

Step Seven:  Nail the letters onto the board.  BLESSED on the front and JOY on the back.

joy-side-of-the-sign

Step Eight:  Nail the picture hangers on the back.

close-up-of-detail-and-hanger

Now you have a two-sided farmhouse sign!

walnut-hollow-blessed-farmhouse-style-wood-sign

blessed-farmhouse-sign-940-x-788

Thanks for reading!  If you enjoyed this project, check out these other projects made with Walnut Hollow rustic pallets:

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

 

walnut-hollow-blessed-farmhouse-sign-diy

One thought on “BLESSED Farmhouse Style Wood Pallet Sign

Leave a Reply

