Rustic Wood Ledge Organizer

rustic-bathroom-organizer

I’ve had two things on my mind this month. The upcoming gift giving for the holiday season, and my big plans for organizing all the things for the new year. It’s a resolution I make for myself every single year to get better organized. Some years I do better than others.  This year was not so stellar, so I have big big plans for next year! It’s going to happen.  I know several friends that are planning the same so I decided this Rustic Wood Ledge organizer would make the perfect gift, and will help us get closer to those organizing goals! The Walnut Hollow Rustic Wood Ledge and Bark Edge Boards were perfect for the project!

One of my biggest organizing problem areas in the house is my bathroom! There is always too much clutter on the counters, specifically. Sometimes there’s just no good place to put things, and the drawers are only so big.  I am putting my Rustic Wood Ledge Organizer in my bathroom, but it could be used on a desk, counter, or dresser instead.

Rustic Ledge Organizer Materials

Here’s what you’ll need to make your own Rustic Wood Ledge Organizer:

Step one:

Cut each of the 5″ bark edge boards in half.  I used a small chop saw to cut my boards, but the smooth wood is easy to cut with any saw you happen to have.

Cut the Bark Edge Boards in half

Lightly sand any rough edges.

Step two:

Glue the two halves of the Bark Edge Boards together with wood glue.  Face them in so the bark makes a nice rounded outside edge.

Glue the Bark Edge Board halves together

Secure with a clamp, or put something heavy on top of them and let the glue dry for at least two hours.

Step three:

Stain the Rustic Wood Ledge and the Bark Edge Boards.  I used a dark Oak stain to match the rustic bark edges on the boards. You could use a lighter stain, no stain at all, or even paint if you preferred.   If the paint or stain you are using is not self sealing, be sure to seal it after it’s dry.

Stain the wood pieces

Step four:

Turn the wood ledge over and glue the bark edge board legs to the bottom edges of the wood ledge using wood glue.  Let the glue dry for at least two hours. I let mine dry overnight.

Glue the legs to the wood ledge

Step five:

Get some jars. I like the wide mouth mason jars, but any jar you have on hand, if it fits inside the ledge, will do.  Fill the jars with those little things that are cluttering up your space, and place the jars inside the ledge!

fill the mason jars

The ledge is high enough that some of my jars could even slide under it for a two tier storage solution!

rustic-ledge-organizer

And now my bathroom sink is clear of clutter!   The bark edge board legs were high enough that it could fit over the sink faucet if needed, so if you don’t have a large vanity, the ledge can sit over the sink instead.  Or you can put it on your desk to hold pencils, pens, paperclips, or other office supplies. I love the simple rustic look.

rustic-bathroom-organizer

 

Are you a super organized person? Share your organizing tips in the comments below!

Use a Walnut Hollow Rustic Wood Ledge and some Bark Edge Boards to make this simple, rustic wood ledge organizer!

Shop now!

12-02-free-ship-fb

Kelli @ Ks Craft Shack

After studying Culinary Arts in Portland Oregon, Kelli went back home to the sunny South West where she decided she wanted to do different kinds of Art. This busy mom of three spends all of her available free time creating in her Craft Shack “she shed” where she can be found burning wood, repurposing old stuff, crafting, and painting just about anything she can get her hands on.

2 thoughts on “Rustic Wood Ledge Organizer

  1. Pingback: Walnut Hollow Rustic Storage Ledge - Ks Craft Shack

  2. Pingback: Rustic Wood Ledge Shelf Organizer | walnuthollowcrafts

Leave a Reply

