DIY Laundry Room Sock Sign

 

wh-organize-laundry-room-sock-sign-3 wh-organize-laundry-room-sock-sign-4

Hey everyone, Katie here! New Years is sneaking up fast and one of my goals is to organize my laundry room, which is always a mess! I’m started by creating this fun little clothesline for lost socks!

I have been seeing Scandinavian patterns popping up a lot lately and I love them, so I wanted to incorporate that style into my laundry room/this sign in the new year.

supplies

Supplies:

  • 1 Small Rustic Innkeeper Board
  • Hammer
  • Picture Hanger
  • Nails
  • White and Black Acrylic Paint
  • Paint Brush
  • Letter Stencils
  • Twine
  • Scrapbook Paper
  • Decoupage Medium
  • Clothespins

1. Start by painting your innkeeper board. I love the curved ends of these boards. I painted mine white with black edges.

step1

2. Cut little sock shapes from your patterned scrapbook paper. I used papers with patterns that felt Scandinavian to me.

step2

3. Adhere your socks to your sign board. I clustered mine off to the sign, like a little sock pile.

step3

4. Use letter stencils to stencil your saying onto the sign, fill in with paint.

step4

5. Hammer in a nail in each of the bottom corners, and tie a piece of twine between the two.

img_3034

step5 step6

Now just hang the sign up on your laundry wall and clip on any single socks you find! My dryer is always eating my socks, so I am so glad to have finally found a solution to lost socks!

wh-organize-laundry-room-sock-sign-1 wh-organize-laundry-room-sock-sign-2

glitters

Bio: Katie is a 24 yr old artist currently living in the Pacific Northwest. She is a lover of everything crafty and is the girl behind the blog Punk Projects, where she posts scrapbook layouts, art journal pages, tutorials and all sorts of artsy things.

2 thoughts on “DIY Laundry Room Sock Sign

  1. Hi – I am wondering if there is someone who can help me. I have just started to wood burn again and I am interested in putting color to my creations. I have done a few with a color wash with acrylic paints and they came out very nice. However, I have seen some people use an opaque layer of acrylic paints and I am wondering just how they paint it on. Would you use several layers of a wash to get the thicker paint (that doesn’t seem like it would work!) or do you just painstakingly paint around every burn mark and TRY not to get the paint in the burn mark? I have just done my first plaque and burned it very nicely. Then I painted the plaque but some of the paint got in the burn marks. I had read where the paint would not “stick” to the burn marks and I should wait until the paint dried on the wood and then dab the paint from the burn marks. That DID NOT WORK!!! So I reburned the whole piece but then I had to sand the whole piece again which then ruined the original paint job. So then I painstakingly tried to repaint the piece and still was getting some paint in the marks. What else can I do?? HELP! Thank you.

    On Fri, Dec 23, 2016 at 7:09 AM, walnuthollowcrafts wrote:

    > Katie Smith posted: ” Hey everyone, Katie here! New Years is sneaking up > fast and one of my goals is to organize my laundry room, which is always a > mess! I’m started by creating this fun little clothesline for lost socks! I > have been seeing Scandinavian patte” >

    • Hi Ginny! Sorry to hear about your experience. We don’t have a lot of advice for you besides to go slow and if you do happen to get paint on the burn marks, to try using a cotton swab to wipe up the excess. There is really no way to avoid the paint getting on the burn marks completely, but it should be wiped up before it dries. You can also use colored pencils to put color on your pieces; however, they will not create the opaque look you seem to want. Hope this helps, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

