Rustic Pallet Tray Wall Art

Rustic Pallet Tray Wall Art with Test Tube Flower Vase by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

My backyard is my favorite place to escape to during the Spring and Summer evenings. I love to enjoy a cold glass of iced tea, tend to my herb garden, and observe nature. After a hard days work I often invite friends over to relax. Last year I created a wonderful patio ensemble, which I share a little more about below, and I wanted to add another colorful piece to the collection. I transformed a Rustic Pallet Tray into a fun piece of wall art with a splash of paint and a test tube.

Rustic Pallet Tray wall Art Supplies by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Supplies:
Walnut Hollow Rustic Pallet Tray
Glass Test Tube (30 x 200 mm)
Paint
Stencil
Paintbrush
Hanging Hardware
Power Drill with Wood-Boring Bit

Rustic Pallet Tray Vase Holder Prep by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 1: Use a power drill with a wood-boring bit to drill a hole through the center tray divider. This hole will hold the test tube. Note: I used a 30 x 200 mm glass test tube with a lip for this project. The lip on the test tube is an important feature to hold the test tube in place.

Rustic Pallet Tray Base Paint Application by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 2: Apply a base coat of paint to all sides of the tray. Leave space around the edges of each board for an accent color of paint in the next step.

Rustic Pallet Tray Accent Paint Color by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 3: Apply an accent color of paint to the edges of the tray and a few select areas to create the look of peeled paint.

Rustic Pallet Tray Dry Brush Stenciling by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 4: Use a dry paintbrush to apply a light coat of paint over a stencil onto the bottom of the tray. Optional: Once the paint is dry, distress the tray with a sanding block and/or metal file. Note: I chose a fun sunburst pattern for my piece, but a favorite quote or monogram would also look great.

Rustic Pallet Tray Hanging Hardware by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 5: Attach hanging hardware to the back of the tray.

Rustic Pallet Tray Wall Art with Vase Closeup by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 6: Insert the test tube through the drilled hole. Fill the test tube with water, add a flower, and hang.

This tray makes me happy! I hung this tray vertically, but it would also look amazing in a horizontal orientation. The center tray divider and bottom ledge of the tray are wide enough to hold small potted plants or some votive candles. I’d love to know how you would you alter this tray. Leave me a note in the comments section.

I mentioned the patio ensemble that I created last year. I’m so looking forward to bringing it out of storage and onto my back deck. I created three video tutorials. I transform Hexagon Wall Decor Boxes into a mosaic table and a trio of vertical succulent planters. I also share how to paint and apply mosaic tiles to a Hexagon Serving Tray.

Thanks for watching!

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

Rustic Pallet Tray Wall Art with Test Tube Vase by Dana Tatar for Walnut HollowRustic Pallet Tray Wall Art with Test Tube Vase Photo Tutorial by Dana Tatar for Walnut HollowDIY Mosaic Serving Tray Video Tutorial by Dana Tatar for Walnut HollowDIY Mosaic Table Video Tutorial by Dana Tatar for Walnut HollowDIY Vertical Succulent Hexagon Planters Video Tutorial by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow
Leave a Reply

