Modern Mirror Tray Wall Decor

Trays are one of the most useful home accessories but they don’t always have to be used to carry or corral items.  With just a few tweaks they can be modern wall decor!

Supplies for tray mirror

Supply List

  • rectangular tray
  • white chalk-type paint
  • paintbrush
  • mirrors
  • tiny nails
  • hammer
  • hangers with screws
  • drill
  • screwdriver

My first plan was so buy one larger flat mirror and glue it in the center.  But my local craft store didn’t have any the right size.  I ran across this set of round mirrors and loved this look even more.

First I gave the tray a couple of coats of white chalk-type paint, allowing it to dry in between coats.

Then I drilled two starter holes and screwed in two hangers to the top back edge of the tray.

hangers for modern mirror tray

These mirrors had their own hangers attached so I arranged them in the tray, marked with a pencil, and nailed some tiny nails to hang them.

Finished mirror tray

The edge of the tray gives a little shelf that would be perfect for storing jewelry or other small trinkets.

Close up tray mirror

Check out these other projects made with Walnut Hollow trays:

Thanks for reading!  Leave a comment and let me know what you would do with a tray.

4-14-17 Free Ship FB

 

BIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

 

Modern Mirror Tray for Walnut Hollow

One thought on “Modern Mirror Tray Wall Decor

  1. Pingback: When is a Tray Not a Tray? When it's a DIY Modern Mirror Tray!

Leave a Reply

