DIY Hot Stamped Hand Mirrors

DIY Hot Stamped Hand Mirrors by Dana Tatar

You’ll be the fairest of them all with these easy to make and personalize hand mirrors! I adapted this project from a similar design by Martha Stewart, replacing her supplies with some of my favorites to create personalized functional pieces rather than décor items. I used the Creative Versa-Tool with HotStamps to wood burn names onto each mirror, but the Creative Versa-Tool includes a wonderful selection of tips that are perfect for burning more elaborate designs or hand lettering onto wood.

DIY Serving Board Hand Mirror Supplies by Dana Tatar

Supplies (For 1 Hand Mirror):

Painted Serving Board Mirrors by Dana Tatar

Step 1: Wrap painter’s tape diagonally around a Round Serving Board. Press along the edge of the tape to ensure a good seal. Brush on acrylic paint. Note: Apply paint along the grain of the wood. I needed two coats of the light pink paint and three coats of the dark purple paint to cover the wood. My daughters selected their favorite colors of paint for their mirrors. Several colors of paint or a fun stenciled design would also look fantastic.

How to Glue a Mirror to Wood by Dana Tatar

Step 2: Apply a generous amount of Aleene’s Wood Fusion (or other wood glue) to the back of a mirror. Center the mirror on the serving board and press firmly to seal. Let the mirror set for 30 minutes before moving on to the next step. Note: Use painter’s tape to help hold down the mirror if necessary. Aleene’s Wood Fusion is fully dry in 24 hours.

How to Use the Mini HotStamps Alphabet Set with the Creative Versa-Tool

Step 3: Use the Mini Lowercase HotStamps Alphabet Set with the Creative Versa-Tool to burn a name onto the bottom edge of the serving board. Note: I found it helpful to pencil on a light guide line for hot stamping. I started by stamping the middle letter of the name in the center of the open space and then worked my way forward and back from there. Please use caution during this step! Both the tool and stamping tips are hot. I used a pair of pliers to attach and change tips. If you’re new to hot stamping, try using the tool and alphabet set on a piece of scrap wood before starting this project.

Hand Mirror Handle Cording by Dana Tatar

Step 4: Cut a piece of cording. Loop the cording through the hole in the handle and tie into a knot.

Walnut Hollow Wood Burning Supply Sale

Get started with wood burning or expand your selection of tools and accessories and save 20% on your purchase from the Walnut Hollow Store. Be sure to check out the selection of New Products!

DIY Hand Mirrors by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

Leave a Reply

