Tropical Birch Round Wall Sconce

Tropical Wall Sconce Tutorial by Dana Tatar

I’m always on the hunt for creative ways to inject my living space with color, especially during the bright and warm Summer months. I’m working on turning my back deck into a tropical oasis. I had a lot of fun using the Creative Versa-Tool and paint to transform Birch Rounds into a vibrant wall sconce. I absolutely love this piece of décor, which looks amazing during the day in the sun, as well as candle-lit by night.

Tropical Birch Round Wall Sconce by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Supplies:
Walnut Hollow Birch Round 3 Pack
Walnut Hollow Birch Coaster 3 Pack
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa-Tool
Aleene’s Wood Glue
DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic Paint
Carbon Paper
Coloring Book Page
Pencil
Paintbrush
Miter Box and Back Saw
Hanging Hardware

Birch Round Cut for Sconce Assembly by Dana Tatar

Step 1: Use a miter box and back saw to cut about 1/2 inch off the bottom of one Birch Coaster. Note: The miter box and back saw is a wonderful power-free option that works well to create a super smooth cut in a way that protects fingers on this small piece of wood. Any saw will work for this step.

Coloring Book Carbon Paper Transfer by Dana Tatar

Step 2: Select a coloring book page with a fun print. (I found the link to this FREE coloring book page by Alisa Burke on the Walnut Hollow Facebook Page!) Place carbon paper over both pieces of the Birch Coaster from the previous step and one large Birch Round. Next, set the coloring book page on top of the carbon paper and trace over the design with a pencil to transfer the print to the wood.

How to use the Creative Versa-Tool with Coloring Book Pages by Dana Tatar

Step 3: Use the Creative Versa-Tool to burn over the transferred design on all three birch pieces. Slowly move the tool over the wood for an even burn. Let the heat do the work. There is no need for a tight grip on the tool or any downward pressure. Note: I used the Tapered Point to burn these rounds.

How to Paint Wood Burned Designs by Dana Tatar

Step 4: Paint the wood. Try to keep the paint inside the burned lines. Note: I used a vibrant palette of DecoArt Crafter’s Acrylic Paint for this project: Tutti Fruitti, Citrus Green, Holiday Green, Wild Green, Purple Passion, Bright Yellow, and Dark Turquoise.

Tropical Birch Round Wall Sconce Assembly by Dana Tatar

Step 5: Assemble the sconce. Apply Aleene’s Wood Glue to the back of the small piece of the cut Birch Coaster. Align the curved edge along the bottom of the large Birch Round and press to seal. Next, apply lines of Aleene’s Wood Glue along the cut edges of the Birch Coaster. Secure the large coaster piece on top of the cut edge of the small coaster piece, painted side up. Let dry.

Burned and Painted Tropical Birch Round Wall Sconce by Dana Tatar

Step 6: Attach hanging hardware to the back of the sconce. Hang and enjoy! Note: I used a votive candle as a prop in the above photo. For safety purposes I plan to use a battery-operated candle.

20% OFF ALL Web Banner

I hope I have inspired you to brighten up your outdoor space with a DIY project! Pick up all the supplies you may need in the Walnut Hollow Store now and save 20%!

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home décor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

Tropical Birch Round Wall Sconce by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow
Leave a Reply

