Emoji Nail Polish Holders

Emoji Nail Polish Holders by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

My daughters are big fans of the emoji trend. They would happily buy everything they see sporting their favorite emoji. We definitely do not need any more emoji pillows, but I thought a fun emoji nail polish organizer would appeal to their sense of style and my need for organizational storage. The Walnut Hollow Basswood Country Round Coasters were a perfect strong base for this project.

Wood Slice Emoji Nail Polish Holder Suppies by Dana Tatar

Supplies:
Walnut Hollow Basswood Country Round Coaster 3-Pack
1-inch Forstner Drill Bit
Electric Drill
Aleene’s Wood Glue
DecoArt Acrylic Paint
Paintbrush
Sandpaper

How to Drill Recessed Holes with a Forstner Bit by Dana Tatar

Step 1: Use an electric drill and a Forstner bit to drill recessed circles into the coasters. Combine the resulting saw dust with wood glue to make a paste to fill in the holes from the drill  bit and any porous areas of the wood. Once the glue is dry, sand the coaster for a smooth finish. Note: A low drill speed and light pressure worked best. I used a 1-inch bit to fit my nail polish bottles, but a larger bit may be needed. About a 1/8th-inch lip is all that is necessary to hold the bottles upright.

How to Paint an Emoji onto a Wood Slice by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step 2: Paint the top of each wood coaster to look like a favorite emoji.

Smiley Face and Heart Eyes Emoji Nail Polish Holders by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

I kept my designs simple, choosing a smiley face and heart eyes emojis for my holders.

Ghost Emoji Wood Slice Nail Polish Holder by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

I also painted a ghost emoji nail polish holder for myself that was more in line with my nail polish color of choice, black.

Emoji Wood Slice Nail Polish Holders Tutorial by Dana Tatar for Walnut HollowGhost Emoji Wood Slice Nail Polish Holders Tutorial by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Pick up the Basswood Country Rounds Coasters from Walnut Hollow Store. These rounds are also available in a 50 Piece Assortment in addition to the 3-Pack.

Thanks for stopping by today! Let me know what your favorite emoji is in the comments section.

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home décor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

2 thoughts on “Emoji Nail Polish Holders

Leave a Reply

