Marbled Tea and Coffee Station

It’s starting to cool down in the mornings here, which means that Fall is finally on its way!  I don’t drink coffee, but I do love tea and cocoa and the cooling weather means those things are about to become a daily habit!  I spent most of my summer decluttering my house, and I really don’t like having lots of things on the counter.  I decided to make a Tea station for my supplies to keep them all together but off of the counter. This would be perfect for a Coffee setup, or Cocoa too!  I wanted the accessories on my mobile tea station to be bright and colorful.  One of my favorite paint methods is called paint pouring.  It’s so much fun, and the best part is that it requires absolutely no artistic ability in order to look great!  The bright beautiful marbled look of the poured paint looks so amazing with the Walnut Hollow bark edge slices!

Marbled Tea or Coffee Service

 

Here’s what you’ll need to bring together your own Marbled Tea (or Coffee) Station:

Supplies

To make the mobile cart:

Since I didn’t want my amazing Marbled Accessories to sit on the counter when they were not in use, I threw together a quick mobile cart to keep in the kitchen.  It’s super easy to make!  First take three large crates and use wood glue to attach them together.

Building a crate cart

Paint or stain them if you wish.  I gave them a quick coat of a light colored stain.

Crate Cart Wheels

Then attach the Swivel Caster Wheels according to the directions they come with on the bottom and glue the Rustic Rectangle to the top for a solid surface! Simple as that!

 

Now for the fun paint pouring part:

First, tape off the edges of your tray and your coasters.

Wood Round Prep

Use a disposable cup and stir stick to mix each individual color.   You need to thin the paint a little. For each color I used 2 tablespoons of decoupage glue, 1/2 teaspoon of water, and 1 teaspoon of fluid acrylic paint.  If you don’t have Fluid Acrylics, you can use regular acrylic paint.  Since the regular acrylic paint is thicker you’ll need to increase the amount of water you use by nearly double.

Mixing the Paint

This can be a little bit of trial and error.  You want the paint to be thin enough to move around, but if it’s too thin it will break up and you’ll get little speckles of paint in your watery glue.   If your paint keeps separating from the glue, you’ve likely got too much water.  Add more glue to bring it together again.

Pouring the Paint

After you’ve mixed your colors, pour them on the taped wood surface!  There’s no right or wrong way to do it.  You don’t need to cover the whole surface. I like to throw in a metallic color with the standard paints.  I added silver to my blues!

Tipping the Paint to Marble

When you’ve finished pouring the paint on, pick up your wood slice and tip it side to side lightly to move the paint around.  Watch the colors swirl together and marble! Be sure to have some kind of protective cover over your work surface! Paint pouring can be messy!

To do a tray, first paint (or stain) the edges of the tray inside and out. Allow to dry completely, and then tape the edges.  Pour the paint into the bottom of the tray and tip the tray around.

Paint Pour Tray

Let the paint dry for about an hour and then peel the painters tape off.  If you do it like me and wait until the paint is completely dry you will need the help of a craft knife to cut around the edges of the paint and free it from the tape.  It was still ok, it just takes longer to remove the tape that way!

Removing the Tape

Because the paint is thick with this method, I allowed it to dry overnight before use.

Marbled Tea or Coffee Service

I set my cute little mobile cart up with my bright happy accessories and I love it!

Marbled Tea or Coffee Station

When I’m finished with it, I can slide it back against a wall and it’s out of the way until I’m ready for it again.

Mobile Marbled Wood Crate Tea or Coffee Station

The blue poured paint on this Basswood Country Round Coaster looks like the ocean I think!   Which colors are you going to pour on your marbled coasters? Grab a 3 pack over on the Walnut Hollow website and have some fun making some poured paint accessories for your Tea (or Coffee) station!

Marbled Wood Slice Coaster

Be sure to Follow Walnut Hollow on  Pinterest for more Coffee station inspiration this month!

After studying Culinary Arts in Portland Oregon, Kelli went back home to the sunny South West where she decided she wanted to do different kinds of Art. This busy mom of three spends all of her available free time creating in her Craft Shack “she shed” where she can be found burning wood, repurposing old stuff, crafting, and painting just about anything she can get her hands on.

One thought on “Marbled Tea and Coffee Station

Leave a Reply

