Rolled Magazine Wall Art

SAMSUNG CSC

I enjoy projects that take advantage of upcycled materials. My husband recently switched airlines and gifted me his unused miles to subscribe to magazines. At first, it was fun to receive magazines in the mail. I was up-to-date on all the celebrity gossip, was learning valuable fashion tips, and was enjoying trying out new recipes and DIY projects. As my personal and family commitments grew with the change of seasons, my time to read was drastically cut and I ended up with a fairly large stack of magazines. Rather than recycle them, I thought it would be fun to use the glossy, colorful pages for art. This project was really fun and is great for crafters of all ages!

Supplies:
Walnut Hollow 11.5-inch Chippendale Plate
Magazine Pages
Paper Trimmer
Adhesive Dots
Hot Glue Gun
Bone Folder (Optional)
Wood Skewer (Optional)
Picture Hanger

Step One: Create tightly coiled circles from the magazine pages. Use a paper trimmer to cut magazine pages into 1 3/4-inch strips. Next, fold each strip in half, using a bone folder to make a sharp crease. Then, open each folded strip and fold the cut sides of the paper in to the center crease. Refold the paper strip in half along the original creased line and flatten with a bone folder. This folding process produces a 1/2-inch strip of paper. Roll the paper strips into tightly coiled circles and secure the ends with an adhesive dot. Tip: A wood skewer is a great tool to help start the rolling process. Make different sizes of coils by wrapping more than one folded magazine strip together.

Step Two: Use a hot glue gun to adhere the rolled magazine circles onto the center of the plate.

Step Three: Glue (or screw) a picture hanger onto the back side of the plate.

I didn’t want to cover up the subtle grain pattern or soft finish of this beautiful wood plate, so I chose to leave the decorative edge unadorned. Chippendale Plates are made from Basswood – the best type of wood for successful wood burning and woodcarving techniques – so this plate is ready to paint, stain, decoupage, stamp or embellish to match your personal taste and decor. Would you leave the edge of the plate as is or personalize it? I’d love to hear how you would design this piece in the comments section!

Get the plate to make this project NOW from the Walnut Hollow Store! Or, pick up some wood burning supplies and create a gift for Dad. Hurry to take advantage of the Father’s Day Sale!

Craft_FathersDaySaleWoodBurning_BNR

Thanks for stopping by today!

DanaTatar (3)

Dana Tatar I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

Leave a Reply

