Air Plant Wall Decor with Basswood Shield Plaque

Air plants are everywhere now!  I recently saw some in the grocery store that were hot glued into their planters.  I felt a little sorry for them.  So I came home and designed a simple holder for my new air plant.  I chose Walnut Hollow’s basswood shield style plaque.

Walnut Hollow wood shield plaque

Supply List

  • basswood shield style plaque
  • air plant
  • drill
  • 14 gauge copper wire
  • tin snips
  • dark walnut stain
  • brush & rags
  • sawtooth hanger
  • tiny nails
  • hammer

First I laid the air plant on top of the plaque to get an idea of where to drill the holes.

air plant planter on wood shield plaque

I actually left the plastic wrap on the plaque, marked where I wanted to drill, and drilled the holes.  Then I removed the plastic.

drilled 2 holes for my air plant wall hanging planter

I used my tin snips to cut the copper wire and bent it around a bottle.

bend copper wire for air plant hanger

Before staining or glueing I double checked to make sure the fit was right and my air plant would fit.

copper wire on wood shield plaque

I added a sawtooth hanger on the back to make it easy to display.

hanger on back

Usually, I water down my walnut stain but I wanted this to be really dark so I brushed it on full strength and wiped it off with a soft cloth.

walnut stain

Air plants are so easy to care for and display.  All I did was gently set the air plant on the copper wire.

Air plant wall decor planter with Walnut Hollow shield plaque

 

Get 20% off all Basswood at WalnutHollow.com, starting today!

Craft_4thJulyBasswoodSurfaces_BNR

Check out these other projects made with Walnut Hollow products:

Thanks for reading!  Leave a comment and let me know how you display your air plants.

Ann's Picture

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

 

 

 

 

 

Air plant wall decor planter with Walnut Hollow shield plaque copy

3 thoughts on “Air Plant Wall Decor with Basswood Shield Plaque

  1. Pingback: Air Plant Wall Planter

  2. Pingback: DIY Condiment Tray - Vintage Style!

Leave a comment