DIY Sisal Tissue Box

It’s allergy season and tissues are a daily part of our lives right now!  I try to find patterned boxes that fit our decor but with today’s project, a sisal covered tissue box, I won’t have to worry about that anymore.

Finished sisal tissue box copy

This simple DIY project just needs a few supplies and a little time.

Supplies for my sisal tissue box. copy

DIY Sisal Tissue Box Supply List

I started at the top opening where the tissues come out.  I ran a thin line of hot glue right on the edge and stuck down my first layer of sisal string.

Starting the sisal tissue box copy

Then I just continued glueing around and around until I got to the edge.  At that point I made a very sharp turn back in the other direction.  I found that if I held it in that position for just a few seconds the glue held it tight.

Sisal on top of the tissue box copy

The sides were much easier.  I just glued the string around and around.  It took a while but it was very easy.  I caught up on my favorite YouTube channels while I glued.

Starting down the sides of the tissue box copy

When I finished it was a little fuzzy with lots of tiny hot glue strings and pieces of sisal.  I just trimmed off all the extra little strings.  In the photo below you can see how the sisal goes back and forth in each corner.

Finished wrapping sisal around wood tissue box copy

Here’s the finished project.

Finished sisal tissue box copy

And this fits into my rustic style much better than any store bought tissue box ever did!

Sisal tissue box on our checkerboard table copy

Make this project for mom – get all the supplies at WalnutHollow.com and enjoy FREE SHIPPING on orders over $50!

Craft_MothersDayFreeShipOver50_BNR

Thanks for reading!  Don’t forget to check out the Walnut Hollow blog for all the other DIY box projects this month.

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

7 thoughts on “DIY Sisal Tissue Box

  1. I did this on wine bottles for a center piece with a red or yellow rose with red highlights for each “vase” it was beautiful.

  2. Pingback: Air Plant Wall Decor with Basswood Shield Plaque | walnuthollowcrafts

  3. Pingback: Air Plant Wall Planter

  4. Pingback: 5 Easy Farmhouse DIY Fall Home Decor Projects

  5. Pingback: 5 Cheap and Easy Fall Decor Projects You Can Make

Leave a comment