Multi-Month Decor: Pumpkin Box

Boo Halloween Pumpkin Box

Hi friends! Dana Tatar here today sharing a fast Fall decor project. I quickly altered one box and one plaque to create a decoration that I can use for several months. A simple swap of the box contents, and an erasing and rewriting of the chalkboard sentiment, keeps this piece fun and fresh for all my favorite Fall occasions.

Pumpkin Box Supplies
Supplies:

Walnut Hollow Pumpkin Box
Walnut Hollow Basswood Oval Plaque
Acrylic Paint
Chalkboard Paint
Chalk Marker
Stencils
Twine
Nail
Seasonal Decorations
Paintbrush
Sanding Block
Hammer
Power Drill

Pumpkin Box Layered Paint Finish

Step One: Select acrylic paints in a pleasing Fall color palette. Use a paintbrush to apply paint to the box. Repeat this process with each color of paint, allowing the box to dry between coats.

Pumpkin Box Distress Sanding

Step Two: Sand the box with varying levels of pressure and concentration to reveal the layers of paint. The rough-hewn pine contains beautiful knots and valleys. This uneven surface highlights the multiple colors of paint in a wonderfully rustic way. Note: Add a more vibrant color of acrylic paint to this process for a bold pop of color.

Chalkboard Plaque

Step Three: Use a power drill to add holes to each side of the oval plaque. Apply a coat of chalkboard paint to the plaque. Let dry.

Stenciled Chalkboard Plaque

Step Four: Tie twine through the holes in the plaque. Bring the ends of the twine together and tie into a knot. Use stencils and a chalk marker to write a festive sentiment onto the plaque. Note: Easily remove the chalk from this plaque with a wet cloth.

Boo Halloween Pumpkin Box

Step Five: Use a hammer to set a nail into the inside of the box. Hang the chalkboard plaque from the nail. Fill the box with seasonal decorations for an attractive centerpiece or porch display.

Here are two more examples:

Fall Pumpkin Box

Thanksgiving Gather Pumpkin Box

This box is a wonderful blank canvas for Fall decor. Try filling this box with Indian corn, apples, gourds, small pumpkins, candles, greeting cards, silverware and napkins, candy, or fresh baked goods. Keep this box for yourself or fill it with your Fall favorites and give it as a hostess or teacher gift. I’d love to know what you would put in this box. Leave me a comment below!

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

 

 

One thought on “Multi-Month Decor: Pumpkin Box

Leave a comment