Wood Slice Rudolph Ornaments

 

DIY Wood Slice Rudolph Ornament

Hi friends! Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer is one of my favorite Christmas specials. It doesn’t feel like Christmas for me until my Rudolph decorations are displayed. I created some wood slice Rudolph ornaments to help spread some holiday cheer to my friends. The best part about this ornament design, other than the light-up nose, is that this project is quick and inexpensive.

Wood Slice Rudolph Ornament Supplies

To create one ornament you will need the following supplies:

Walnut Hollow Basswood Country Round Ornament
Red Flameless LED Tea Light (1)
Brown Pipe Cleaners (3)
Red Ribbon
Acrylic Paint
Paintbrush
Pencil
Hot Glue Gun
Scissors
Drill

Painted Rudolph Wood Slice

Step 1: Draw (or trace) Rudolph’s face onto a wood slice and color with acrylic paint. Drill two holes into the wood slice; one medium hole to fit the tea light in the center of the nose and one small hole in the top of the wood slice to attach a ribbon. Note: I drilled the holes after I painted the wood slice to ensure proper placement. I painted the inside of the holes with red and white paint to help them blend into the design. Drawing doesn’t come easy to me, so I used a coloring book page as a guide.

Wood Slice Rudolph Antlers

Step 2: Bend 1 pipe cleaner in half to use as the base of the antlers. Cut pieces of pipe cleaner to wrap around the base to create smaller antlers. Use a hot glue gun to secure the antlers to the back of the wood slice.

Rudolph Wood Slice Ornament

Step 3: Insert the tea light into the wood slice from behind. Tie a length of red ribbon through the hole at the top of the wood slice. Note: The tea light bulb is completely enclosed in the hole drilled in the wood slice, which helps protect the bulb from breakage. Also, the hole I drilled is snug enough to hold the tea light without any additional adhesive, which will help make replacing the light easier when necessary.

Light-Up Rudolph Wood Slice Ornaments

These ornaments look great on the tree, but could also be used as a fun gift topper. Personalize these ornaments for your loved ones by painting the background with their favorite color. Add a name to the design to make the gift extra special.

 

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

One thought on “Wood Slice Rudolph Ornaments

Leave a comment