String Art Air Plant Hearts

String Art Air Plant Hearts by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Hi friends! I’m counting down the days until I am officially on Summer vacation. I have a list of projects that I want to complete before long so that I can sit back, relax, and enjoy the fruits of my labor. I’m working on a vegetable and herb garden, various annual planters throughout my yard, and some fun decor projects.

I created this set of string art planters in a couple of hours. I {heart} the shape of these plaques! I left the top of the plaques the natural pine so that the air plants could shine, but added a bit of personality to the decorative edge of each plaque, which was perfect for painting.

String Art Air Plant Hearts Supplies by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Supplies:

Walnut Hollow Painted Heart Plaques by Dana Tatar

Step One: Paint the edge of each Heart Shape Promo Plaque with several colors of acrylic paint. Once the base layer of paint is dry, brush on designs in contrasting colors. Have fun with this step! Protect the plaques with a layer of sealant. Let dry.

Adding Nails to Wood Heart for Sting Art by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step Two: Use a hammer to pound nails into the top of each plaque. Note: I used nails with a copper finish for my plaques because I really like the warmer tone. Any style/finish of nails will work here.

Painted Heart String Art by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step Three: Wrap string around the nails. Begin by securing the end of a piece of string to one nail. Wrap the string around each nail to create a continuous border of string around the edge of the plaque. Continue to wrap string around the nails in the center of the plaque. Be sure to leave an area of each heart open to hold an air plant. Once satisfied with the look of the string, tie the string off around a nail and trim away any excess string.

String Art Heart Air Planters by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Step Four: Insert air plants between the strings on each heart. Add hardware to the back of each heart and hang. Note: I used the following varieties of air plants for my plaques: Tillandsia Capitata Peach (Top Left), Tillandsia Ionantha Red (Top Right), and Tillandsia Ionantha Orange (Bottom Right).

String Art Air Plant Heart Decor by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

The small plaques (4″ x 4″) also look great in a photo holder as a table accent.

050517 50 OFF Sale Web Banner

This project was so fun! Plaques like these would make great Mother’s Day or Teacher gifts. Shop Walnut Hollow today and save 50% on all sale items! There is also a wonderful selection of NEW products.

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

DIY Sting Art Air Plant Hearts by Dana Tatar for Walnut Hollow

Leave a comment