Table Top Quilt Sign

If you are coming from Judi Kauffman’s post then you are in the right place! Thank you for following along with the Walnut Hollow®+ Ann Butler Designs™ Blog Hop!

Blog Hop Prize

Be sure to leave comments on the Walnut Hollow Blog to enter to win this prize!  We’ll chose a winner Wednesday, May 28th for our Blog Hop prize randomly drawn from your comments. The winner will be announced via the Walnut Hollow Facebook Page.

Quilt Sign Angled copy

I have never actually made a quilt- but I love the way that they look! I adore textiles and their unique patterns and colors. When I received the Ann Butler inks, paints and stamps I was really excited to make a “quilt like” project. There are several quilt makers in the Walnut Hollow office and I created this project for them! It would make a great addition to any quilter’s studio, sewing room or crafting space!

I started out with Walnut Hollow’s 5″ Wooden Letters and a 23″ Wide Name Signboard. I sprayed a base coat of Krylon ColorMaster White Primer.

1 Spray Wood White

I painted the edges of each letter using a different color of Earth Safe Finishes Ann Butler Designs Iridescents. The colors are bold and go on very smooth. They have a subtle shine that really enhanced the appearance of the paint when I applied it over the white base coat. It took 2 coats of each color to get a nice vivid hue.

2 Pick Colors for Painting

3 Paint Edges

4 Edges with Paint Color

When the Earth Safe Finishes Ann Butler Designs Iridescents was dry I picked out all of the 2″ square Ann Butler Designs Unity Stamps. I practiced stamping them with the Clearsnap® ColorBox® Crafter’s by Ann Butler. Once I was comfortable with the stamps and ink, I used random squares stamps to stamp onto my letters. I used all of the colors of the Clearsnap® ColorBox® Crafter’s by Ann Butler to create a “quilt like” pattern on all of my letters.

6 Start Stamping

7 Stamping

When my letters were all stamped I dried the ink with a heat gun.

8 Set Ink with Heat Gun

To prepare the base I taped off the top edge and pained the surface with Americana Chalkboard Paint. Apply using the manufacturers instructions.

5 Tape off edge of Plaque

I used a chalk ink marker to add some “stitching” to the chalkboard base.

8.5 Chalkboard

I arranged my letters where I wanted them on my Wide Name Signboard and marked the space with white chalk.

11 Mark Chalkboard

10 Adhere Letters

I used Tombow Power Adhesive Tabs to attach the letters to the base. The tabs are very strong and hold the letters on very well.

9 Arrange on Chalkboard

 

Quilt Sign

I love the way the sign turned out… now I just need to start quilting! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by! Happy Hopping!

Ann Butler

Beth Watson

Connie Hall

Irit Shalom

Kristi Parker

Larissa Pitman

Lisa Rojas

Paula DeReamer

Roberta Birnbaum

Steph Ackerman

Vishu Reberholt

Judi Kauffman

Sara Shirman < YOU ARE HERE

Chris Wallace < GO HERE NEXT!

Emma

Jennifer Priest

Melissa Cash

 

27 thoughts on “Table Top Quilt Sign

  1. I LOVE this project….it would be so perfect for my new sewing room….something to think about! Thanks for being part of the Blog Hop!

  2. Love how you used the letters vertically on the signboard, Judi! Ingenious!
    Lovely colors and patterns, too!

  3. Pingback: Sunday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #ArtJournal | lifeimitatesdoodles

  4. I love your sign! It is so bright and cheerful. Perfect for a quilt room – would definitely bring cheer to a sewing room!

  5. Pingback: Personalized Name Art For A Little Girl's Room - A Blog Hop with Walnut Hollow and Ann Butler Designs | Hydrangea HippoHydrangea Hippo

Leave a comment