Wood Burning on Spoons

By Chris Wallace for Walnut Hollow

Spoons

I’ve seen some wood burned spoons on Pinterest and thought it would be fun to make them for Christmas gifts this year. There are so many ideas for wood burning on them and I thought it would be fun to personalize them for my friends who enjoy cooking.

IMG_1818First I needed to find some spoons! I found some on www.amazon.com and ordered a couple different styles – some were a light wood and some were harder wood and darker. Either style was going to work well.

IMG_1822One idea I used was stamping on the spoon. I used a light blue ink and stamped the back of the spoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI used both the Creative Woodburner® Value Pen and the Creative Versa-Tool® to do the wood burning.

IMG_1823

IMG_1826

IMG_1828To wood burn the image I stamped onto the spoon, I used the Value Pen with the Cone Point attached. Then I used the Circle Hot Stamp from the Creative Versa-Tool to add the circles on the back and the front of the spoon.

26162 HotStamps TrilingualThe letter “S” was wood burned with the Alphabet Hot Stamps Set.

IMG_2128 It’s great for burning an initial or a word.

IMG_2129This was created with a “chicken” stamp that I have, but the stamp was too small for the spoon. I stamped the chicken image on a piece of paper and enlarged the stamp on a copier until it fit the spoon.

IMG_1941

For this spoon, I used the Shading Point – it comes with both tools – and just burned a leaf design on the back of the spoon.

IMG_1938

Here’s my favorite spoon. It’s small and there wasn’t enough room for the Alphabet Hot Stamps to be used on the handle, so I just penciled the words “Be Brave” and burned the message.

 

Spoons3

Spoons2Here are views of both sides of the spoons. You can see that anything goes! Zentangle inspired wood burning is also great idea for the spoons. Play around with the different Points that come with the tools and you’ll be able to come up with lots of fun ideas.

We made a video so you could actually see how some of these spoons were wood burned. Please view the video here:

I think my friends will like their spoons – and maybe they will think of me when they are cooking!

7 thoughts on “Wood Burning on Spoons

  1. Pingback: 15 Easy Wood Craft Projects | walnuthollowcrafts

  2. Pingback: pyrography spoons - 365 Days of Crafts DIY Art and Craft inspiration for you and your home

Leave a comment