Wood Burned Tic-Tac-Toe Board

Wood burned tic tac toe board

When I was a child I spent many hours and reams of paper playing tic-tac-toe so it seemed appropriate that I should make this as my first wood burning project.  This wood burned tic-tac-toe board is about as easy as you can get and the X’s and O’s will allow you to be as creative as you and your kids would like to be!

SUPPLIES:

INSTRUCTIONS:

1.  Plug in and turn on your Creative Woodburner Value Tool.

2.  I worked on the X’s and O’s first so I could try out all the tips and get the hang of how each of them would work.  Use your creativity here.  No need to sketch with a pencil here unless you really want to.  I just “doodled” with the value tool and was very happy with how most of them turned out!

Close up of Xs and Ox for wood burned tic-tac-toe board

I used all four tips on these.  You can unscrew the tips with a pair of pliers if you want to change tips while the tool is still hot.

3.  Next, draw the tic-tac-toe board onto the wood round with your pencil.  I first found the center of the basswood round and measured out 1.5″ on all four sides.  I made the lines 1/4″ across and 3″ apart.

Lightly draw the tic tac toe board onto the Basswood Country Round by Walnut Hollow.

Trace the pencil lines with the Value Tool.  I found it easiest to make straight lines with the universal tip.  Then I went back and filled them in by dragging the wide side of the universal tip across the line.

Wood burning the tic tac toe board with Walnut Hollow's Value Tool.

I was very impressed with the thickness and weight of this piece of wood.  It’s very sturdy and will make a game you can keep forever!

Wood burned tic tac toe board

Now we’re all set for a lazy summer afternoon away from electronics!

Leave a comment and let me know what your favorite childhood game was.

Ann's PictureI’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

8 thoughts on “Wood Burned Tic-Tac-Toe Board

  1. Pingback: Wood Burned Tic-Tac-Toe Board for Walnut Hollow

  2. I remember my wood burning days of long ago, but I wasn’t very creative! Wood burning was a Fifth Grade school project.

  3. This is wonderful. I am new to woodburning and this would be a fabulous first project. Thanks for the tutorial. (I liked Scrabble and Probe board games)

  4. This is so clever. I especially like the decorated X and Os. With those terrific instructions even I feel like I could do it. I liked Mastermind;)

  5. What a fun project! We played a lot of tic-tac-toe as kids! We also played Backgammon all the time! It was very popular then!

Leave a Reply

