Personalized Cork Coasters

I always love getting a personalized gift and since getting together for coffee and/or tea is one of my friends’ favorite things to do I thought I’d make them some personalized coasters as part of a gift basket this Christmas.

Wood burned personalized cork coffee coasters

SUPPLIES:

Walnut Hollow Versa Tool

INSTRUCTIONS:

I started off by practicing on one of the extra cork circles.  Cork is softer than wood and took a little time for me to get used to.  At first I had trouble with the centers of some of the letters burning, too.  I found that if I increased the heat (into the orange) and used a lighter touch the letters were clearer.

Here’s how some of my first samples looked before I figured that out.

Personalized cork coasters wood burned

I started with the letters and did all the same letters at one time.  One really nice thing I discovered was that the Hot Stamp Alphabet Set also fits the Creative Woodburner Value Tool, which I already had.  I was able to use one tool while the other was cooling off so I could switch the letters out.  I do most of my stamping freehand, too, so it’s never perfectly straight.

Starting my personalized coffee coasters

After finishing the letters I used the different stamping points to make borders, overlapping each just a bit.

Personalized cork coasters - coffee or tea

Close up of personalized cork coasters

Leave a comment and let me know… coffee or tea?

My Coffee personalized wood burned cork coaster

BIO

Ann's PictureI’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

8 thoughts on “Personalized Cork Coasters

  1. Pingback: Personalized Wood Burned Cork Coasters

  2. Delightful to read your blog –
    I’ve been creative all my life and I have the house to prove it!!!
    Creative minds are rarely tidy – I say that as I look at my incredibly
    delightful messy studio.
    I have to downsize – bummer – and giving away more than1/2 of my
    un-done goodies is heartbreaking – however!!! I trust I’ll never get
    Alzheimers as my mind never stops coming up with IDEAS!!!! to
    paint! =

  3. Pingback: DIY Rustic Painted Wood Lacy Wedding Centerpiece

  4. Pingback: Air Plant Wall Planter

  5. Pingback: DIY Map Shadow Box, Walnut Hollow Project

Leave a comment