Easy DIY USA Clock

A few months back I saw clock in the shape of California that someone had found at a thrift store and repurposed in their home and I loved it.  Today we’re doing better than that.  We’re making a clock with the whole country!

USA pallet wood sign

Supply List

Step One:  Drill a hole for the clock movement to be inserted into later.

Step Two:  Lightly sand the raw wood and stain.  Apply the stain with a paint brush and wipe off with a rag.  The stain looks dark in this photo but it will dry lighter.

Staining USA clock

Step Three:  After the stain has dried completely, sand until the surface is smooth.  Remove as much color as you want from the edges for a more rustic look.

Sanding USA clock

Step Four:  Insert clock movement, following directions on the package.

Step Five:  Burn numbers on clock.  I chose to only do 3, 6, 9, and 12.  Here’s my wood burning set up so I don’t burn my table:

wood burning tools

Step Six:  Insert AA battery and hang up your clock!

USA clock close up

Check out these other projects made with Walnut Hollow clock movements:

Thanks for reading!  Leave a comment and let me know if you’ve ever made a clock.

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

Easy DIY USA clock

4 thoughts on “Easy DIY USA Clock

  1. Pingback: DIY Wood USA Clock

  2. Pingback: DIY Clock | Wood USA Clock with Stain

Leave a comment