Rustic wood fall centerpiece with wood burned quote

Fall is here and all the beautiful colors are creating great inspiration for decorating!

Rustic wood fall centerpiece with wood burned quote using a rustic plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #falldecorating #centerpieceI decided to try wood burning a quote into a beautiful piece of rustic wood to make a centerpiece for all my fall events.

Here is my list of supplies:

Rustic wood fall centerpiece with wood burned quote using a rustic plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #falldecorating #centerpieceAfter deciding on my quote (There is always something to be thankful for.) for the project, I used the metal stamps and a blank ink pad to create a template for the wording. This was a super helpful step, so don’t skip it!

Each letter has to be heated in the Creative Versa-Tool®, so by taping down the template, I was able to wood burn the same letter every time it appears in the quote. It made it a little bit faster to wood burn the letters but still give yourself some time for the project! I also rested the unused letters on my wood piece to help with placement.

Some of the letters burned a bit wonky but I love the way it just adds to the rustic feeling of the wood!

Rustic wood fall centerpiece with wood burned quote using a rustic plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #falldecorating #centerpieceThe next step was to add a layer of painting to resemble a plaid pattern. I used watercolors because the paint is transparent. I wanted to make sure that the lettering stayed as dark as possible. I used a large flat brush to create layers of orange, yellow and burgundy watercolor. I added a layer of white watercolor and a few thin lines of watered down white acrylic paint. I then sealed the wood with an acrylic sealer. This is important since I used watercolor. If you use acrylic paint to create the plaid pattern, the sealer is optional.

Rustic wood fall centerpiece with wood burned quote using a rustic plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #falldecorating #centerpieceEven though I used transparent paint, some of the lettering needed to be darkened again. I used a black marker to help with this step.

Rustic wood fall centerpiece with wood burned quote using a rustic plaque from Walnut Hollow • AtopSerenityHill.com #woodburning #falldecorating #centerpiece

What a lovely rustic centerpiece for your next fall event! Add a bunch of gourds and flowers, a few candles or even use the rustic wood plank to serve part of the meal! This versatile wood centerpiece will come in handy right up through the Thanksgiving holiday!

Thanks for creating along with me today! You can find out more about my creative world on my blog, Atop Serenity Hill.

ConsieSindetBioPicture

Bio: My name is Consie Sindet and I live in Hunterdon County, NJ. I’ve been making a living with my painting skills for the past 15+ years. I taught decorative painting for over 10 years and also painted many murals in both private homes and businesses. I spend a large part of the summer face painting at parties and fairs. My newest obsession is with mixed media and art journaling and I am currently working on creating two online classes about doodling and beginner art journaling.

Leave a Reply

