Birdhouse Box Bird Feeder

Birdhouse Box Bird Feeder by Dana Tatar

January is a great month to start fresh. I’m making small changes both inside and outside my home. I added a bright pop of color to my backyard with a new bird feeder. I love starting my day with a hot cup of coffee as I look out my kitchen window and observe this fun project and all the happy little birds.

Birdhouse Box Bird Feeder Supplies by Dana Tatar

Supplies:
Walnut Hollow Birdhouse Box
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa-Tool
Plexiglass
Decorative Metal Ribbon
Coloring Book
Carbon Paper
Acrylic Paint
Heavy Duty Stapler
Hardware (Pan Phillips Screws, Acorn Nuts, Corner Plates, Washers, Eye Bolt)
Pencil
Paintbrush

Coloring Box Wood Burning Template by Dana Tatar

Step One: Transfer a fun coloring book design onto the back and sides of the Birdhouse Box using a pencil and carbon paper.

Wood Burned Birdhouse Box by Dana Tatar

Step Two: Insert the Tapered Point tip into the Creative Versa-Tool and burn the traced design into the wood.

Painted Birdhouse Box by Dana Tatar

Step Three: Paint the roof, front edge, and inside top shelf area of the Birdhouse Box with acrylic paint. Let dry.

DIY Birdhouse Box to Bird Feeder by Dana Tatar

Step Four: Cut two pieces of plexiglass; one piece to fit inside the box and one piece to fit across the bottom of the box. Attach the plexiglass pieces to the box.

Metal Ribbon Birdhouse Roof by Dana Tatar

Step Five: Staple decorative metal ribbon to the roof of the birdhouse.

1-06-20-off-fb

This fun Birdhouse Box and all the rest of the NEW PRODUCTS in the Walnut Hollow Store are 20% off! If you’re a bird lover and you’d like to create a statement piece for your front door, be sure to check out Morena’s Birdhouse Spring Wreath Tutorial.

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

3 thoughts on “Birdhouse Box Bird Feeder

    • Hi Lori! I used a utility knife and a ruler as a straight edge guide to cut the plexiglass. I didn’t know the exact measurements I would need to fit the plexiglass into this box so I bought a sheet to take home. Your local hardware store should be able to help you cut plexiglass to any size you need.

Leave a comment