DIY Condiment Tray

You might realize by now that I love making new things look old.  I was excited to work on this month’s theme of summer entertaining when I saw a vintage yellow crate advertised online.  I knew I wanted to recreate it as a condiment tray with Walnut Hollow’s hexagon tray.  Here’s what it looked like when it arrived in the mail.

Walnut Hollow hexagon tray

Supply/Tool List

  • Walnut Hollow hexagon tray
  • yellow acrylic paint
  • walnut stain/finish
  • paint brushes
  • galvanized pipe strap
  • tin snips
  • upholstery tacks
  • hammer

I was excited to find the exact shade of yellow that I had seen online.  It covered in two coats.

Walnut Hollow wood hexagon tray DIY

My next obstacle was the metal strip that was on the vintage crate.  Then I remembered the pipe strap that we have to use here in California to strap our water heaters to the wall.  This metal strip is similar and very easy to work with.  I measured around the tray and cut the strap to fit with my tin snips.  I used upholstery tacks to attach it to the wood.

Metal strip on condiment tray

Now it’s ready to fill with condiments, drinks, and a few flowers.

Condiment tray with Walnut Hollow's hexagon tray

Having this tray saves a few trips back and forth to the patio when we grill burgers!

Finished condiment tray by pool

Check out these other projects made with the Walnut Hollow hexagon tray:

Thanks for reading!  Leave a comment and let me know what you’re grilling this weekend.

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

 

DIY Condiment Tray with Walnut Hollow's hexagon tray

3 thoughts on “DIY Condiment Tray

  1. Pingback: DIY Clock | Wood USA Clock with Stain

  2. Pingback: Modern Mirror Tray Wall Decor | walnuthollowcrafts

  3. Pingback: Make it Monday – Studiokatie

Leave a comment