Faux Cross-Stitch Hygge Box

Hygge Box by Dana Tatar

I’m learning to live more in the moment and to appreciate the ordinary events and tasks that make me happy. I’m setting aside time for myself each day when I can unplug from technology and tune into my thoughts and feelings. To help make this process a bit more special I created this hygge box. Hygge (pronounced hue-gah) is a Danish word that is a feeling or mood that comes from taking genuine pleasure in making ordinary, everyday moments more meaningful, beautiful or special. As I prepare a cup of tea, enjoy a piece of chocolate, and write in my notebook, the faux cross-stitched rose that I burned and colored onto the bottom of the box is revealed. The items shown above, and the box itself, makes me happy!

Faux Cross-Stitch Hygge Box Supplies

Supplies:
Walnut Hollow 8×10-inch Bark Edge Shadow Box
Walnut Hollow Creative Versa-Tool
Walnut Hollow HotStamps Alphabet, Lowercase
Cross-Stitch Pattern
Markers
Pencil
Carbon Paper

Faux Cross-Stitch Carbon Paper Transfer

Step 1: Transfer a cross-stitch pattern onto the inside bottom of the shadow box using a pencil and carbon paper.

Faux Cross-Stitch Wood Burning

Step 2: Twist the lowercase letter ‘x’ onto the Creative Versa-Tool and turn on to warm up. Burn over the cross-stitch pattern.

Faux Cross-Stitch Coloring

Step 3: Color over the wood burned pattern with markers.

Faux Cross-Stitch Hygge Box by Dana Tatar

Step 4: Fill the box with special items and enjoy…or hang on the wall as a piece of home decor.

2-03-free-ship-wb

I created this box for myself, but it would also make a wonderfully thoughtful gift. Stop by the Walnut Hollow Store and take advantage of this free shipping offer.

Thanks for stopping by today! Leave me a comment and let me know what you would put in a hygge box for yourself.

DanaTatar_Headshot


Dana Tatar
I’m currently living in Virginia with my husband and two daughters. I started paper crafting about 9 years ago and have expanded from scrapbooking and now create a little of everything; including cards, tags, ATCs, arches and small gift and home decor items. I frequently find inspiration in music, poetry and pop culture. I’m an active blogger and I like to share my tips and ideas. When I’m not creating art, I enjoy baking, reading, listening to music and spending time outdoors with my family.

3 thoughts on “Faux Cross-Stitch Hygge Box

  1. Pingback: Wood Hygge Tray | walnuthollowcrafts

Leave a comment