Wood Hygge Tray

I first learned about Hygge last year from a fellow blogger.  It’s a Danish word that doesn’t have an exact translation in English.  “Cozy” may be as close as we can get.  Hygge is much more than just a way to decorate but it does include cuddling up with a book and a cup of coffee on a cold winter day.

Today I’m sharing how to make a tray to bring together a few Hygge essentials for you.  Here’s what I started with:

Hygge tray before painting

Supply List

Paint for Walnut Hollow hygge tray

Randomly brush on different colors of paint.

Painting wood for hygge tray

Sand until smooth.

After sanding one board for hygge tray

Brush on stain.  Wipe off with soft, clean rag.

After staining one board for hygge tray

Position rope clamps along edges.  Drill holes.  Screw in.  Cut rope to desired length, plus 6-10″ extra for tying knots.  Tie knot in one end of rope.  Thread through the rope clamps.  Tie similar knot in opposite end.  Trim.

handle close up

Here’s the finished tray.

Finished hygge tray

Now load up the tray with a book, cup of coffee, and a candle and you’re ready for a Hygge day!

DIY Hygge tray

Check out these other Walnut Hollow projects in our Hygge series:

Thanks for reading!  Leave a comment and let me know what you would add to your Hygge tray.

Ann's PictureBIO

I’m Ann Tatum from Duct Tape and Denim.  I’m a jewelry designer but I can’t contain my creativity to just jewelry!  From childhood I’ve loved just about every craft I’ve ever tried.  And my studio currently looks like I’m enjoying every craft!  I especially love upcycling vintage finds.  I raised two daughters who are now married, have one grandson, and live with my musical husband and the boss of our house, the cat.  Follow our adventures on DuctTapeAndDenim.com.

2 thoughts on “Wood Hygge Tray

Leave a Reply

